Modular Connectors (not Plugs) And Stranded Wire? - Low Voltage - Contractor Talk

Modular Connectors (not Plugs) And Stranded Wire?

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2010, 01:18 PM   #1
Member
 
ICC Marco's Avatar
 
Trade: Structured Cabling
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25

Modular Connectors (not Plugs) And Stranded Wire?


Would like to get your comments and opinions on using stranded wire with modular connectors?

Currently, ICC modular connectors do not support the use of stranded wire only solid.

In these challenging economic times, it appears that more and more installers are using stranded wire even for their backbone voice wiring.

Thanks for your feedback!

-Marco
ICC Marco is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 11-03-2010, 01:44 PM   #2
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 24,274
Rewards Points: 13,712

Re: Modular Connectors (not Plugs) And Stranded Wire?


I only stock solid in bulk, solid for the backbone, stranded for patch cords....honestly I have never seen someone wire their backbone in stranded; stranded is hard to find locally.

Advertisement

Inner10 is online now  
Old 11-03-2010, 06:59 PM   #3
Pro
 
ABLE1's Avatar
 
Trade: Security Alarm Installer (Low Voltage)
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 930
Rewards Points: 958

Re: Modular Connectors (not Plugs) And Stranded Wire?


If the "INSTALLERS" are installing stranded cable for backbone then it should be up to them to do the final terminations and testing so that when it fails it will be their responsibility to do the job right. Maybe they will learn something.


Les
__________________
ABLE1
ABLE1 is offline  
   
 
Old 11-04-2010, 04:00 AM   #4
Synacom
 
Synacom's Avatar
 
Trade: Information Transport Systems Installer
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 89

Re: Modular Connectors (not Plugs) And Stranded Wire?


There are RJ45 (8P8C) connectors made for both solid and stranded wire although most people assume the connector is 'generic' and will work on either.
Synacom is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 12:32 AM   #5
Pro
 
hbiss's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 115
Rewards Points: 101

Re: Modular Connectors (not Plugs) And Stranded Wire?


In these challenging economic times, it appears that more and more installers are using stranded wire even for their backbone voice wiring.

That's crap. If an "installer" is using stranded UTP cable it's because he doesn't know what he is doing. Period.

Stranded cable is for patch cords. You use solid conductor cable for premises wiring. Purchase from reputable suppliers and you won't even see stranded cable. Purchase cheap Chinese junk cable off the internet and Ebay and that's what you are going to get. It most likely doesn't meet CAT standards and isn't UL listed per the NEC. This is what you would be supporting.

Absolutely the LAST thing your company needs to do is support this practice. The rest of the industry only provides IDC terminations for solid conductors because that is the standard. The few times I have come across stranded CAT5 it was removed at the customer's expense.

I don't give a rat's patoot about tough economic times. Do it right or don't do it at all.

-Hal

Last edited by hbiss; 11-14-2010 at 12:41 AM.
hbiss is offline  
Old 11-14-2010, 12:56 AM   #6
Pro
 
hbiss's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 115
Rewards Points: 101

Re: Modular Connectors (not Plugs) And Stranded Wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Synacom View Post
There are RJ45 (8P8C) connectors made for both solid and stranded wire although most people assume the connector is 'generic' and will work on either.
Just to make what you said clearer- there are plugs for cable with solid conductors and plugs for cable with stranded conductors. Use a plug for solid wire in stranded (or vice versa) and it will fail. So you need to make sure the plugs you are using are correct for the wire type. The strain relief should also be of the correct type for the shape and diameter of the cable jacket. This goes for any plug- 8P8C or 6P, 2,4,6C telephone.

That said I have heard talk of so called "universal" plugs but I have never seen and used one to confirm that they exist or work.

-Hal

Last edited by hbiss; 11-14-2010 at 12:59 AM.
hbiss is offline  
Old 12-02-2010, 10:00 PM   #7
New Guy
 
MisterCMK's Avatar
 
Trade: Fire Alarms, CCTV, Card Access, etc
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Modular Connectors (not Plugs) And Stranded Wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hbiss View Post
In these challenging economic times, it appears that more and more installers are using stranded wire even for their backbone voice wiring.

That's crap. If an "installer" is using stranded UTP cable it's because he doesn't know what he is doing. Period.

Stranded cable is for patch cords. You use solid conductor cable for premises wiring. Purchase from reputable suppliers and you won't even see stranded cable. Purchase cheap Chinese junk cable off the internet and Ebay and that's what you are going to get. It most likely doesn't meet CAT standards and isn't UL listed per the NEC. This is what you would be supporting.

Absolutely the LAST thing your company needs to do is support this practice. The rest of the industry only provides IDC terminations for solid conductors because that is the standard. The few times I have come across stranded CAT5 it was removed at the customer's expense.

I don't give a rat's patoot about tough economic times. Do it right or don't do it at all.

-Hal
This.

I don't understand how any economic condition would warrant using stranded cable over solid.
MisterCMK is offline  
Old 12-02-2010, 11:05 PM   #8
Thom
 
thom's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor/Homebuilder
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 4,137
Rewards Points: 4,748

Re: Modular Connectors (not Plugs) And Stranded Wire?


I, like CMK, am wondering. I've never seen stranded cat 5, I didn't know it existed. For those of you who have seen it, is it really cheaper?
thom is offline  
Old 12-06-2010, 09:20 AM   #9
Synacom
 
Synacom's Avatar
 
Trade: Information Transport Systems Installer
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 89

Re: Modular Connectors (not Plugs) And Stranded Wire?


Stranded Cat5 cable is usually used for patch cables. The reason for stranded is because it can flex repeatedly without breaking. Stranded is more expensive because of the process that uses multiple smaller gauge wires and adds the twist operation. With patch cables being as cheap as they are, I don't know of anyone making them.
Synacom is offline  
Old 12-06-2010, 04:39 PM   #10
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 24,274
Rewards Points: 13,712

Re: Modular Connectors (not Plugs) And Stranded Wire?


Hal is right on the money as far as the economic hardship BS.

Quote:
Just to make what you said clearer- there are plugs for cable with solid conductors and plugs for cable with stranded conductors. Use a plug for solid wire in stranded (or vice versa) and it will fail. So you need to make sure the plugs you are using are correct for the wire type. The strain relief should also be of the correct type for the shape and diameter of the cable jacket. This goes for any plug- 8P8C or 6P, 2,4,6C telephone.
Hal, I've never seen an 8P8C universal male plug but we do have universal female recepticals.

Quote:
I, like CMK, am wondering. I've never seen stranded cat 5, I didn't know it existed. For those of you who have seen it, is it really cheaper?
No its a little more, but its hard to find in stock anywhere....the only time someone would use it is if they ordered it by accident and wanted to get rid of it. I only buy stranded in pre-terminated cables.

The one time I used a box of stranded was with the B&W Casa system...it specified STP Stranded Cat5...I still have boxes of that crap hanging around.
Inner10 is online now  
Old 04-20-2011, 05:32 PM   #11
Member
 
gizmo21187's Avatar
 
Trade: LV
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 25

Re: Modular Connectors (not Plugs) And Stranded Wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Synacom
There are RJ45 (8P8C) connectors made for both solid and stranded wire although most people assume the connector is 'generic' and will work on either.
http://www.techtoolsupply.com/Produc...de=CR6SD%2D100

Sent from my M80 using a lighter.
gizmo21187 is offline  
Old 06-20-2011, 11:23 PM   #12
Registered User
 
bader's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical - Data Network
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Modular Connectors (not Plugs) And Stranded Wire?


I have to patch stranded wire Cat 5e cables into patch panels (bad past work ... ) . What's the simplest solution ? Does exist any stranded wire to solid adaptors ? Thanks for help.

Advertisement

bader is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?