Use Of Precast Concrete Post Bases??

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2010, 10:05 AM   #1
Pro
 
232323's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling contractor
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MT
Posts: 175
Rewards Points: 154

Use Of Precast Concrete Post Bases??


I see a lot of decks in this area (MT) being built using precast concrete post bases. They just set these bases on ground level and the 4x4 post sits inside a pocket (with no anchors) in the top of the post base. The bottom of the post base is about 12" x 12". They even use these for the posts that support beams. Certainly a very simple installation (no holes to dig or concrete to pour) but I can't believe these meet any building codes. Am I missing something here? Is the "new and improved" method of building a deck? The ones I've seen built were mostly by handyman types, but I have seen a few contractors using them. Thoughts???
232323 is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   
 

Old 06-06-2010, 10:20 AM   #2
Pro
 
concretemasonry's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry consultant
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: MSP, Minnesota
Posts: 3,163
Rewards Points: 2,254

Re: Use Of Precast Concrete Post Bases??


Not allowed in many areas. - Cheap and unreliable since the soil under the concrete pad/block any not have the strength or be undisturbed.

Also will have to fight the differential frost heaving which can rack a deck.

__________________
Dick

Engineer, designer and consultant recently active domestically and internationally on construction and design in about 40 countries.
concretemasonry is online now  
Old 06-06-2010, 11:21 AM   #3
Pro
 
deckman22's Avatar
 
Trade: Deck Builder
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 2,465
Rewards Points: 1,998

Re: Use Of Precast Concrete Post Bases??


No real deck builder would use those deck blocks, total junk.
__________________
Deckman
www.alscustomdecks.com
deckman22 is offline  
Old 06-06-2010, 12:33 PM   #4
Pro
 
AutumnWood Inc.'s Avatar
 
Trade: Deck Builder
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 748
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Use Of Precast Concrete Post Bases??


Here is a few pictures of a estimate we went on last week.. Ground posts bases, 1) 2x6 as the posts, and 3' on center joists spacing, privacy fencing as railings/skirting. Homeowner special!

Attached Thumbnails
Use of precast concrete post bases??-tom-nathan-008.jpg   Use of precast concrete post bases??-tom-nathan-007.jpg  
AutumnWood Inc. is offline  
Old 06-06-2010, 01:02 PM   #5
Registered User
 
brocktonbldrs's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Use Of Precast Concrete Post Bases??


You would think not even a handy man would use them, idk we call them hack blocks in MA
brocktonbldrs is offline  
Old 06-06-2010, 01:12 PM   #6
Pro
 
superseal's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry / Carpentry Construction and Restoration
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,834

Re: Use Of Precast Concrete Post Bases??


Think of how many trees he saved
superseal is offline  
Old 06-06-2010, 01:44 PM   #7
Pro
 
tcleve4911's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,253
Rewards Points: 1,006

Re: Use Of Precast Concrete Post Bases??


They are intended to be used as bases for temporary structures i.e. sheds, firewood pallets etc......not for temporary structures tied to permanent structures with a foundation or frost wall.

They do make a 5' precast post that is intended to be sunk in the ground below frost level but ...oh yeah....you have to dig a hole
__________________
Back in Maine
Dubbin' Around
Doin' good stuff ......
tcleve4911 is offline  
Old 06-06-2010, 02:33 PM   #8
Pro
 
DeckPros's Avatar
 
Trade: Outdoor Construction
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 438
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Use Of Precast Concrete Post Bases??


Quote:
They are intended to be used as bases for temporary structures i.e. sheds, firewood pallets etc
Nope. These things are marketed for decks: http://www.deckplans.com/

Would I ever use them? Hell no!

I suppose if you live in an area with rock-hard soil and no frost they may fly. Submit them to a building inspector around here and you'd get laughed out of the office.
__________________
http://www.thedeckpros.com
DeckPros is offline  
Old 06-06-2010, 04:44 PM   #9
Pro
 
Rockmonster's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nantucket MA
Posts: 641
Rewards Points: 2,038

Re: Use Of Precast Concrete Post Bases??


About 15-20 years ago, there was a builder out here who used precast boundary markers to support his decks and porches....How this got by the inspectors, I do not know, although this island was still way behind the times back then....they were a joke, he was a joke.....Haven't seen any shortcuts that worked well...
Rockmonster is online now  
Old 06-06-2010, 05:23 PM   #10
Pro
 
dave_dj1's Avatar
 
Trade: general contractor
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Upsate Ny/Vt border
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 562

Re: Use Of Precast Concrete Post Bases??


I could see using them IF you used them properly, in a zone where frost is not an issue or perhaps if you dug the hole (below frostline) and used them as a footing base.
dave_dj1 is offline  
Old 06-06-2010, 05:29 PM   #11
Curmudgeon
 
neolitic's Avatar
 
Trade: carpentry/remodeling/"Yes M'am we do"
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Beech Grove, Indiana, Birthplace of the "King of Cool"
Posts: 11,706
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Use Of Precast Concrete Post Bases??


I'm having serious thoughts about
using them on a ramp.
The only way I can fold the
damn thing up to fit on the lot
puts one row of posts over the
water service, and the other in
the gas line trench.
Next best option is lose two 30"
ash trees.
__________________
Put your location in your profile!
(Sorry....it seems there really are dumb questions)
neolitic is offline  
Old 06-07-2010, 07:23 AM   #12
Pro
 
deckman22's Avatar
 
Trade: Deck Builder
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 2,465
Rewards Points: 1,998

Re: Use Of Precast Concrete Post Bases??


I remember seeing the city of austin approve there use on a commercial deck that went around a historic oak tree where they could not dig footings. A bed crushed granite a certain # of inches thick & one of those blocks every 4'. It was on a ground level deck. I didn't get the bid, but it was built.
__________________
Deckman
www.alscustomdecks.com
deckman22 is offline  
Old 06-25-2010, 06:22 AM   #13
Pro
 
tcleve4911's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,253
Rewards Points: 1,006

Re: Use Of Precast Concrete Post Bases??


Quote:
Originally Posted by DeckPros View Post
Nope. These things are marketed for decks: http://www.deckplans.com/
Read the ad

"Whether it's a simple rectangular deck next to the house, an octagonal platform in the yard, or a deck for the above ground pool, we have a deck plan for you."

No where does it say attached to the house!!!!
__________________
Back in Maine
Dubbin' Around
Doin' good stuff ......
tcleve4911 is offline  
Old 06-25-2010, 06:41 AM   #14
DavidC
 
DavidC's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeler
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NNY
Posts: 2,550
Rewards Points: 2,006

Re: Use Of Precast Concrete Post Bases??


Quote:
Originally Posted by neolitic View Post
I'm having serious thoughts about
using them on a ramp.
The only way I can fold the
damn thing up to fit on the lot
puts one row of posts over the
water service, and the other in
the gas line trench.
Next best option is lose two 30"
ash trees.
They can be used here for ramps because they are considered temporary structures.

We lost a deck bid last month to a friend of the family that is building on these. I was told that she didn't need it as nice as we would build it.

Good Luck
Dave

__________________
www.CookContractingLLC.com
DavidC is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comparing concrete block to precast concrete like Superior Walls ryanjm Masonry 12 10-02-2010 01:09 AM
Concrete with Fly Ash vs. Concrete without? cdkyle Concrete & Paving 19 07-28-2010 09:57 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?