Triple Beam To 6x6 Post Connection

Old 03-25-2008, 01:09 PM   #1
Pro

Trade: Deck Builder
Rewards Points: 250

Triple Beam To 6x6 Post Connection

I have a triple 2x12 beam on hopefully my next build. I always notch my 6x6 3" for the double beams. I've never used a (3) Ply before & was wondering what do you do for your triples, stick with the 3" notch & let the one 2x12 hang past the post? Sketch attached.

Thanks,
Dan
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Beam Detail.pdf (6.2 KB, 2563 views)

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 03-25-2008, 02:28 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: LI,NY designer, new homes, renovation work, concre
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Triple Beam To 6x6 Post Connection

as a habit we usually dont leave any part of a header in the wind, can you add a 2by6 to the side, and trans down to load bearing point?

Old 03-25-2008, 03:04 PM   #3
The Deck Guy

Trade: Outdoor Design & Construction
Send a message via AIM to Greg Di

Put the whole 3 ply beam directly over the 6x6 post and use a metal post/girder connector. Works like a champ.

Depending on the actual thickness of your girder, you may want to add a piece of 1/2" PT ply where the connector interfaces the girder to compensate for the fact that the girder might be thinner than the connector.
Old 03-25-2008, 03:21 PM   #4
Pro

Trade: Porch and Deck Builder
Rewards Points: 1,096

Do you guys add spacers for air circulation between the boards?
Old 03-25-2008, 03:54 PM   #5
Deck Designer/Builder

Trade: Construction Project Manager
Rewards Points: 1,000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Di View Post