First Ground Level Deck...need Advice Please!!

Old 05-09-2009, 06:05 PM   #1

Trade: Custom Bowling Center Carpentry
Rewards Points: 10

First Ground Level Deck...need Advice Please!!

First off.... AWESOME SITE!!! Been reading for awhile now and you guys rock!

As a furniture/bar builder I'm not all that familiar with decking so I need some help here please.

*edit* I'm in NJ*

The wife is forcing me to build a ground level deck extending 8 feet from the back of our house with a length of 20 feet. I have the plans drawn and the wood ordered but my problem is the footings. a few questions:

1 - I have been told that free standing ground level decks do not need cement footings below the frost line...is this correct?

2 - Another problem is that I n eed the deck to be free standing (not attached to house) But there is a cement sidewalk the entire length of the back of the house that butts against the slab the house sits on. I can't break this up to dig posts....been there 40 years and is at least 8" thick (my dad didn't mess around apparently!) after an hour of sledghammering I didnt even get a crack...can I just attach a U bracket for the joists onto this sidewalk/slab?

I am going to be building the deck using this as a guide...but the footing situation has me stumped.

(sorry...I cannot paste the link because I am a new member...it's a ground level deck plan on home depots site)

Thank you in advance for any help you can give me.

Mike

Last edited by steelhumm; 05-09-2009 at 06:08 PM. Reason: typo

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 05-09-2009, 06:52 PM   #2
Workin' Hard & Havin' Fun

Trade: Deck Designer/Builder
Rewards Points: 1,000