Deck Framing Enough Support? - Decks & Fencing - Contractor Talk

Deck Framing Enough Support?

Old 04-30-2008, 10:04 PM   #1

Trade: Field Super
Rewards Points: 29

Deck Framing Enough Support?

I am a plumber by trade but i have done alot of everything else on my own house. I am building a deck over a one story flat roof. The roof slopes down 10 inches from the high point (where the ledger board is attached) to the low point. Coming up through the roof from the foundation of the structure are four 6"x6" PT posts. I did this when i built the extension to have a place to attach the new deck so not to have anything sit on the roof surface.

So now i have a 25'x 15' deck to build. The four posts and a ledger board at the main house will be the vertical support. So here is the problem. I built the one story extension a bit to high. I wanted more ceiling height inside. So now the window that i will make a door leading out the the new deck is going to be very short and i can't change the lintel. To minimize the screw up i framed the substructure with something less than i would have if i had the room. I used double 2"x10" PT beams running between the 6"x6" posts (a span of 15'-0") then i ran only 2"x8" PT joists between the beams and the ledger board. There are two bays of these joist which span 11'-6" each which makes up the total length of the deck that is 25 feet. All these spans are good with all the span charts i have looked at but now i want to use IPE for the decking and at nearly 6 pounds per lin. foot. I am concerned this thing is going to sag in the centers and eventually touch the roof. The bottom of the joists at the high point of the roof is only 1 inch off the roof. Again this was to keep things a low as possible.

So my questions....

Is 11'-6" too much of a span for 2"x8" PT?

Are the double 2"x10" PT beams sufficient for the 15 foot span?

Do you beef up substructure when using heavy stuff like ipe?