Wrong 220 Outlet - Page 2 - Electrical - Contractor Talk

Wrong 220 Outlet

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2017, 01:01 PM   #21
back doors to hell put in
 
Irishslave's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Google knows
Posts: 3,183
Rewards Points: 998

Re: Wrong 220 Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by SmallTownGuy View Post
neutral. mfrs cal it that. Code says on new builds 4 wire is required. Calls the middle leg neutral, and 4th is chassis ground.

I don't make the rules...
it's because new appliances have loads of solid state circuitry too. It's all 110v
__________________
Television is fake...The internet is real
Irishslave is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 12-28-2017, 11:10 PM   #22
edward trowelhands
 
Golden view's Avatar
 
Trade: Diplomat
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: PDX
Posts: 3,833
Rewards Points: 4,766

Re: Wrong 220 Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Irishslave View Post
it's because new appliances have loads of solid state circuitry too. It's all 110v
Funny thing is most electronics now have a switching type power supply. 100-240V, 50/60 HZ. Doesn't matter to it.
Golden view is online now  
Old 12-29-2017, 12:22 PM   #23
Member
 
ComRemodel's Avatar
 
Trade: electrical
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 164

Re: Wrong 220 Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Irishslave View Post
Now in Europe everything is 220v. It's also a different CPS. 50 instead of 60 I think. if you bring appliances from the USA, you'll need an adapter. What does that adapter do internally? I'll bet it adds a neutral. On that I could be wrong, but in theory that would make sense. What it does with the cycles I don't know
In Europe one side of the 220 is the grounded conductor (neutral) like our 110 is here. Use a European appliance here and the adapter just allows you to plug the European plug into our 220v receptacle. It does nothing electrical.

If you use an American appliance in Europe that needs the 110v to neutral the only way is to use a transformer- 220v primary, 110-0-110v secondary. So yes, it creates a neutral.

Depending on the equipment or appliance, the 50 Hz verses our 60 may not make any difference.

-Hal
ComRemodel is offline  
   
 
Old 12-29-2017, 12:58 PM   #24
Pro
 
Lettusbee's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ft Collins, CO
Posts: 2,111
Rewards Points: 2,834

Re: Wrong 220 Outlet


Step 1: go to home center and buy correct cord.

Step 2: Take cord home, remove from package

Step 3: try to insert new cord into socket to ensure it is correct fit for existing outlet.

Step 4: Listen for big bang and look for light show at end of new cord

Warning, for chrissakes people do not actually follow these instructions!!!

I'm a dead crispy carpenter, not a successful electrician!
Lettusbee is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to Lettusbee For This Useful Post:
SmallTownGuy (12-29-2017)
Old 12-29-2017, 02:33 PM   #25
Pro
 
kirkdc's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling (mostly kitch/bath)
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Cripple Creek. CO
Posts: 661
Rewards Points: 2,796

Re: Wrong 220 Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lettusbee View Post
Step 1: go to home center and buy correct cord.

Step 2: Take cord home, remove from package

Step 3: try to insert new cord into socket to ensure it is correct fit for existing outlet.

Step 4: Listen for big bang and look for light show at end of new cord

Warning, for chrissakes people do not actually follow these instructions!!!

I'm a dead crispy carpenter, not a successful electrician!

lol...and that'll p iss someone off. but sure as hell funny.

Advertisement

kirkdc is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trailer air outlet project BCConstruction Tools & Equipment 24 02-28-2013 09:48 PM
I need to add a ceiling light to a switch that activates an outlet supafly917 Electrical 23 12-10-2012 05:03 PM
USB outlet in the kitchen maverick1980 Electrical 6 11-05-2012 07:59 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?