Wiring A Barn:

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-03-2009, 03:16 AM   #1
Pro
 
LEVELBEST's Avatar
 
Trade: Contractor, Trim Dude, and Custom Cabinet Maker
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 451
Rewards Points: 250

Wiring A Barn:


Okay guys, question. I am a contractor(really a carpenter with a license) and need to wire a barn that I built for my grandparents. This barn is used for storage and workshop, not horses etc. What would you guys suggest I use as far as type of wire and also how high would you set your receptacles and how far apart would you space them? The barn size is 24x36 with 3 stall doors across the back, double doors centered on the front, and one 12' sliding door on either end. I plan on putting one gooseneck fixture above each stall door, for a total of 3. Also plan to put 3 recessed lights in the overhang on the front of the barn, as well as workshop lights and one exhaust fan on the interior.....along with receptacles.

Thanks in advance!!
LEVELBEST is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   
 

Old 08-03-2009, 06:15 AM   #2
Box Builder
 
Morning Wood's Avatar
 
Trade: Pretty much anything with wood and some metals
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rockport, MA
Posts: 2,868
Rewards Points: 2,440

Re: Wiring A Barn:


If it were me, I would get my electrician to stop in and go over everything with me. Get all the necessary info about where to put things that code requires and how to run wires. etc. At the very least I would think the wiring should be in galv. surface mounted conduit and plugs should be gfi's if a horse could get near them.

Morning Wood is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 10:59 AM   #3
#1 stunner
 
Static Design's Avatar
 
Trade: Design/Build
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: KY
Posts: 576
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to Static Design

Re: Wiring A Barn:


Are you paying consulting fees? if so I can send my paypal address.
__________________
Will do autocad/ 3d work for food.
SD on facebook... click here
Static Design is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 02:17 PM   #4
Service & Repairs
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrician
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rahway, New Jersey
Posts: 4,000
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Wiring A Barn:


You may want to consult an electrician and the building department for this job because wiring an agriculture building even though it isn't used for horses etc, has special wiring methods that need to be followed. For instance, romex is NOT one of the wiring methods you can use. There are several but type MC Cable and UF are probably what you're gonna use.

NEC Article 547
Magnettica is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 03:48 PM   #5
Pro
 
rustyjames's Avatar
 
Trade: Constructioneer; LEED AP BD+C
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 812
Rewards Points: 600

Re: Wiring A Barn:


Quote:
Originally Posted by LEVELBEST View Post
Okay guys, question. I am a contractor(really a carpenter with a license) and need to wire a barn that I built for my grandparents. This barn is used for storage and workshop, not horses etc. What would you guys suggest I use as far as type of wire and also how high would you set your receptacles and how far apart would you space them? The barn size is 24x36 with 3 stall doors across the back, double doors centered on the front, and one 12' sliding door on either end. I plan on putting one gooseneck fixture above each stall door, for a total of 3. Also plan to put 3 recessed lights in the overhang on the front of the barn, as well as workshop lights and one exhaust fan on the interior.....along with receptacles.

Thanks in advance!!
I'd go to the Library or buy a book, I don't think you're going to get an overwhelming amount of info here.

Last edited by rustyjames; 08-03-2009 at 04:50 PM.
rustyjames is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 05:48 PM   #6
Sparky
 
Tonyf's Avatar
 
Trade: Licensed Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Wiring A Barn:


I have been doing agricultural electrical work for YEARS. Are you doing a barn or a shop? Is there any animal feed nearby where mice like to hangout? This has a bearing on types of wire you can use. Most BARNS are done in PVC conduit with T90, or RW90 .
Tonyf is offline  
Old 08-03-2009, 06:32 PM   #7
Head Grunt
 
woodchuck2's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical Contractor&Home Maintenance
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Creek, NY/Lower Adirondacks
Posts: 3,227
Rewards Points: 2,086

Re: Wiring A Barn:


Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnettica View Post
You may want to consult an electrician and the building department for this job because wiring an agriculture building even though it isn't used for horses etc, has special wiring methods that need to be followed. For instance, romex is NOT one of the wiring methods you can use. There are several but type MC Cable and UF are probably what you're gonna use.

NEC Article 547
X2, i would use MC or EMT. If there is any possible chance of wire damge due to rodents or machinery then i wouldnt bother with UF. Just because there wont be any livestock inside doesnt mean the critters wont come in.
woodchuck2 is offline  
Old 08-04-2009, 06:39 PM   #8
ampman
 
ampman's Avatar
 
Trade: providing pathways for electrons and protons
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: central florida
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Wiring A Barn:


do yourself and your family a favor and call an electrician
__________________
an army of sheep lead by a lion will defeat an army of lions lead by a sheep
ampman is offline  
Old 08-04-2009, 06:52 PM   #9
Project Manager HFH..
 
JumboJack's Avatar
 
Trade: GC
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lakewood CA.
Posts: 3,711
Rewards Points: 2,004

Re: Wiring A Barn:


Quote:
Originally Posted by LEVELBEST View Post
Okay guys, question. I am a contractor(really a carpenter with a license) and need to wire a barn that I built for my grandparents. This barn is used for storage and workshop, not horses etc. What would you guys suggest I use as far as type of wire and also how high would you set your receptacles and how far apart would you space them? The barn size is 24x36 with 3 stall doors across the back, double doors centered on the front, and one 12' sliding door on either end. I plan on putting one gooseneck fixture above each stall door, for a total of 3. Also plan to put 3 recessed lights in the overhang on the front of the barn, as well as workshop lights and one exhaust fan on the interior.....along with receptacles.

Thanks in advance!!
How many horses?



Call a sparky....
__________________
in texas with framing and cornish people will do it for 3.00 a foot. What do yall think about that? Just laber
JumboJack is offline  
Old 08-04-2009, 06:53 PM   #10
Pro
 
rustyjames's Avatar
 
Trade: Constructioneer; LEED AP BD+C
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 812
Rewards Points: 600

Re: Wiring A Barn:


A person who has the talent to erect a building typically has the talent to run some wires in a little shop. It's not like he's going into it blind, he merely asked for a few pointers.
rustyjames is offline  
Old 08-04-2009, 08:45 PM   #11
Where's my coffee?
 
HanerEnterprise's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contracting - A/V Integration
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North Central PA
Posts: 92
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Wiring A Barn:


I would go EMT if it is going to be exposed.

Don't use cowboys... if any animals are ever to be inside they will get hurt on these little devils. Keep it tight to the framing using two hole clamps. Use this as an excuse to buy a bender!

Please, if you can, have an electrican buddy check everything as you go. Then hire him do the panel and finals. You will need his approval for passing.



Dave
__________________
I never give up!
HanerEnterprise is offline  
Old 08-04-2009, 11:37 PM   #12
Service & Repairs
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrician
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rahway, New Jersey
Posts: 4,000
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Wiring A Barn:


Quote:
Originally Posted by HanerEnterprise View Post
I would go EMT if it is going to be exposed.

Don't use cowboys... if any animals are ever to be inside they will get hurt on these little devils. Keep it tight to the framing using two hole clamps. Use this as an excuse to buy a bender!

Please, if you can, have an electrican buddy check everything as you go. Then hire him do the panel and finals. You will need his approval for passing.



Dave

And if this electrician's any good he'll tell you that using EMT is NOT one of the wiring methods listed in article 547.

Hey James I run a few lines here and there does that qualify me to build an entire building?

You guys crack me up, as if wiring is some sort of hobby.
Magnettica is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 12:25 AM   #13
Pro
 
slowforthecones's Avatar
 
Trade: scab
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: California
Posts: 618
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Wiring A Barn:


Did someone forget rigid conduit?
slowforthecones is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 09:02 AM   #14
Pro
 
rustyjames's Avatar
 
Trade: Constructioneer; LEED AP BD+C
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 812
Rewards Points: 600

Re: Wiring A Barn:


Quote: "You guys crack me up, as if wiring is some sort of hobby. "

Some of you guys crack me up, as if running some wires for a couple receptacles and lights was rocket science. FYI check out the DIY site, there's tons of posts about homeowners doing a lot more than what this CONTRACTOR wants to do.
rustyjames is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 09:16 AM   #15
Sparky
 
Tonyf's Avatar
 
Trade: Licensed Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Wiring A Barn:


Quote:
Originally Posted by rustyjames View Post
Quote: "You guys crack me up, as if wiring is some sort of hobby. "

Some of you guys crack me up, as if running some wires for a couple receptacles and lights was rocket science. FYI check out the DIY site, there's tons of posts about homeowners doing a lot more than what this CONTRACTOR wants to do.
If I had $75.00 an hour for every time I had had to go fix something electrical in a house that was done by a framer or plumber, I'd be a happy man.
P.S.
I am one of the happiest men on the planet. Thanks framers
Tonyf is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 09:32 AM   #16
Al Smith
 
A W Smith's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Improvement contractor since 1983, In building field since 1974, Licensed
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: South River NJ
Posts: 2,392
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via ICQ to A W Smith

Re: Wiring A Barn:


A Barn? Knob and tube of course!
__________________
Al Smith
http://www.awsmith.com
A W Smith is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 12:07 PM   #17
Pro
 
trptman's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling and restorations
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 443
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Wiring A Barn:


Quote:
Originally Posted by A W Smith View Post
A Barn? Knob and tube of course!
Society for the historical preservation of fire hazards...

thats funny right there



trptman is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 07:22 PM   #18
Service & Repairs
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrician
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rahway, New Jersey
Posts: 4,000
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Wiring A Barn:


Quote:
Originally Posted by rustyjames View Post
Quote: "You guys crack me up, as if wiring is some sort of hobby. "

Some of you guys crack me up, as if running some wires for a couple receptacles and lights was rocket science. FYI check out the DIY site, there's tons of posts about homeowners doing a lot more than what this CONTRACTOR wants to do.

That doesn't mean that half of them aren't idiots you know.

I could build 4k square foot house on the weekends including the roof, plumbing, HVAC, sheetrock... all a piece a cake. I have a hammer, a plunger, and some tin snips. What else could I possibly need?

Besides that, so what if he's a CONTRACTOR. I'm a contractor, an ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR.

And what is a contractor?

Someone who sells contracts!

Last edited by Magnettica; 08-05-2009 at 07:24 PM.
Magnettica is offline  
Old 08-06-2009, 03:58 AM   #19
Pro
 
LEVELBEST's Avatar
 
Trade: Contractor, Trim Dude, and Custom Cabinet Maker
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 451
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Wiring A Barn:


Okay smart asses..............here was my plan....perhaps you can just let me know if this is okay per your expertise. I planned on putting all the switches and outlets at the same height, that way they will all be above the top of the eventual work benches that may go there. I also planned to run conduit from each box up thru the top plate of the walls, then just run the romex from there to the panel. Does that sound good?

Btw, my county doesn't call for anything other than romex, no conduit at all. The reason I asked was bc I wanted to do it the BEST way, not just the easiest way. As for the smartass that said something about framers, etc wiring and him making money off of it.........well it doesn't take a genious to pull wire.....and that is the hardest part of the job when wiring something as simple as a barn ain't it? JK man. Thanks to those who had a serious response.

I understand you guys not wanting to help the DIY guys.......but come on....lighten up on a fellow blue collar construction dude.........
LEVELBEST is offline  
Old 08-06-2009, 08:37 PM   #20
Pro
 
slowforthecones's Avatar
 
Trade: scab
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: California
Posts: 618
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Wiring A Barn:


Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnettica View Post
That doesn't mean that half of them aren't idiots you know.

I could build 4k square foot house on the weekends including the roof, plumbing, HVAC, sheetrock... all a piece a cake. I have a hammer, a plunger, and some tin snips. What else could I possibly need?

Besides that, so what if he's a CONTRACTOR. I'm a contractor, an ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR.

And what is a contractor?

Someone who sells contracts!
umm... that is funny coming from a guy with magnets on a workvan... you can be a plumber in 40 seconds with the flip of a magnet..

slowforthecones is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ansul system wiring rad04 Electrical 14 06-03-2012 03:48 PM
convert pole barn into house kalefarmer Construction 5 07-06-2009 08:07 PM
Bathroom wiring help please !!! RICK430 Electrical 18 06-06-2009 06:26 PM
'Quick Wiring' question nadonailer Electrical 85 05-31-2009 08:57 AM
Disconnecting Wiring Question AlSmith Electrical 6 05-20-2009 09:06 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?