tags, as close as possible to the opening tag. Creation Date: 12/20/2017 -->

Tone Generators

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-16-2017, 06:39 PM   #1
Pro
 
rselectric1's Avatar
 
Trade: Licensed Electrical Contractor and Remodeler
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 11,553
Rewards Points: 532

Tone Generators


I'm in conduit land where we can usually trace wires easily and mechanically.

Because of that, I've really never found the need for a toner. In the last couple months I've had some service calls where I know having one would have been a huge help.

Because I would rarely use it, can you guys who deal mostly with NM recommend one in the under $400 range that you like?

Thanks!

Ron
__________________
220...221...whatever it takes!
rselectric1 is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 11-16-2017, 06:42 PM   #2
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 22,505
Rewards Points: 10,030

Re: Tone Generators


Progressive/Greenlee has always been my go to, ProsKit is excellent, Fluke Intellitone is excellent, JDS is a decent...only one I really hate is Paladin Tools which is now called Cable Check under the Greenlee name....real piece of junk.

No need to spend 400 bucks...

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Advertisement

__________________
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post: Leo G
Inner10 is online now  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post:
rselectric1 (11-16-2017), TxElectrician (11-17-2017)
Old 11-16-2017, 06:51 PM   #3
Pro
 
rselectric1's Avatar
 
Trade: Licensed Electrical Contractor and Remodeler
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 11,553
Rewards Points: 532

Re: Tone Generators


Quote:
Originally Posted by Inner10 View Post
Progressive/Greenlee has always been my go to, ProsKit is excellent, Fluke Intellitone is excellent, JDS is a decent...only one I really hate is Paladin Tools which is now called Cable Check under the Greenlee name....real piece of junk.

No need to spend 400 bucks...

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
I don't do any low voltage, and in researching they seem to only show that part of how great their product performs. (I leave that fancy stuff to pros like you).

So difficult to get real advice from you tube and the internet in general EXCEPT here where I can trust the advice.
__________________
220...221...whatever it takes!
rselectric1 is offline  
   
 
Old 11-16-2017, 06:55 PM   #4
Capra aegagrus

 
Tinstaafl's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeler
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 21,539
Rewards Points: 584

Re: Tone Generators


Ron, I'm no connoisseur, but I don't think there's much advantage in spending more than $50-100 on one--unless you're looking for exotic functions. Mine cost around $50 several years ago, and it generally serves me pretty well. Too lazy to go out to the van and see what make/model it is.

There's a learning curve to using them. They're about three steps up from water-witching.
Tinstaafl is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to Tinstaafl For This Useful Post:
rselectric1 (11-16-2017)
Old 11-16-2017, 06:59 PM   #5
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,282
Rewards Points: 9,890

Re: Tone Generators


Greenlee 508S for me. You can find them used at a fairly good price.
__________________
Chuck Norris can start a fire by rubbing two ice cubes together.
480sparky is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
rselectric1 (11-16-2017)
Old 11-16-2017, 08:32 PM   #6
Pro
 
tjbnwi's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cedar Tucky, Indiana
Posts: 7,259
Rewards Points: 980

Re: Tone Generators


I have this one. Use it on EMT often. Works very well. If you want to try before you buy let me know.

http://www.techtoolsupply.com/Produc...YaAtFBEALw_wcB

Tom
tjbnwi is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to tjbnwi For This Useful Post:
rselectric1 (11-16-2017)
Old 11-16-2017, 08:39 PM   #7
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,282
Rewards Points: 9,890

Re: Tone Generators


Tone sets made for telecom usually don't last long tracing down line voltage wiring. All it takes is one, "Oops.... I guess it was hot...." and you've got a paperweight.
__________________
Chuck Norris can start a fire by rubbing two ice cubes together.
480sparky is online now  
Old 11-16-2017, 08:48 PM   #8
Pro
 
tjbnwi's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cedar Tucky, Indiana
Posts: 7,259
Rewards Points: 980

Re: Tone Generators


Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Tone sets made for telecom usually don't last long tracing down line voltage wiring. All it takes is one, "Oops.... I guess it was hot...." and you've got a paperweight.
Can't fix stupid.

I've had mine 16-17 years.

Tom
tjbnwi is online now  
Old 11-16-2017, 09:23 PM   #9
Pro
 
rselectric1's Avatar
 
Trade: Licensed Electrical Contractor and Remodeler
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 11,553
Rewards Points: 532

Re: Tone Generators


Quote:
Originally Posted by tjbnwi View Post
I have this one. Use it on EMT often. Works very well. If you want to try before you buy let me know.

http://www.techtoolsupply.com/Produc...YaAtFBEALw_wcB

Tom
Thanks Tom, me likey this one! Seems just right for me but I am anal just like electrician personalities need to be and will see what others suggest. So far this is the winner for my situation.
__________________
220...221...whatever it takes!
rselectric1 is offline  
Old 11-16-2017, 10:12 PM   #10
Pro
 
tjbnwi's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cedar Tucky, Indiana
Posts: 7,259
Rewards Points: 980

Re: Tone Generators


Quote:
Originally Posted by rselectric1 View Post
Thanks Tom, me likey this one! Seems just right for me but I am anal just like electrician personalities need to be and will see what others suggest. So far this is the winner for my situation.
I'd get one of these if it worked with the iPhone. Nice to be able to see what you're following.

https://walabot.com/diy

Tom
tjbnwi is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to tjbnwi For This Useful Post:
hdavis (11-17-2017)
Old 11-16-2017, 10:45 PM   #11
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,282
Rewards Points: 9,890

Re: Tone Generators


Quote:
Originally Posted by tjbnwi View Post
Can't fix stupid........
Sure you can! Just buy one made for line voltage.
__________________
Chuck Norris can start a fire by rubbing two ice cubes together.
480sparky is online now  
Old 11-16-2017, 11:06 PM   #12
Pro
 
tjbnwi's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cedar Tucky, Indiana
Posts: 7,259
Rewards Points: 980

Re: Tone Generators


Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Sure you can! Just buy one made for line voltage.
Not possible.

That's circumventing stupid.

Tom
tjbnwi is online now  
Old 11-17-2017, 07:57 AM   #13
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 22,505
Rewards Points: 10,030

Re: Tone Generators


Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Tone sets made for telecom usually don't last long tracing down line voltage wiring. All it takes is one, "Oops.... I guess it was hot...." and you've got a paperweight.
The progressive can take a quick flash....I can say from experience.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
__________________
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post: Leo G
Inner10 is online now  
Old 11-17-2017, 10:20 AM   #14
Pro
 
hdavis's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CoastalME
Posts: 18,916
Rewards Points: 3,401

Re: Tone Generators


Quote:
Originally Posted by tjbnwi View Post
I'd get one of these if it worked with the iPhone. Nice to be able to see what you're following.

https://walabot.com/diy

Tom
One of those would have saved me a lot of hours and repairs on remodels over the years. No more guessing and hoping.
hdavis is online now  
Old 11-17-2017, 09:55 PM   #15
Pro
 
Xtrememtnbiker's Avatar
 
Trade: General Remodeling
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4,390
Rewards Points: 220

Re: Tone Generators


I've used this one in romex land quite a few times with good success.

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

One job was figuring why a receptacle in a dining room built in bar area didn't work in a house that was about 10 years old. Pull the coverplate and hot and neutral are reversed. Go out and check the panel box and all breakers are on.

Get out the toner and trace the wires to a junction box in the kitchen island. I took off the cover plate and found a hot and neutral that were capped off. Switched the wiring on the receptacle to correct, connected the wires in the junction box, and then the receptacle worked.

I guess somehow the electrician who did the trim out figured that if he disconnected that particular wire in the junction box the breaker would stop tripping and that was his solution.
Xtrememtnbiker is online now  
Old 11-17-2017, 10:10 PM   #16
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 11,282
Rewards Points: 9,890

Re: Tone Generators


Quote:
Originally Posted by tjbnwi View Post
Not possible.

That's circumventing stupid.

Tom
It's possible. But you want to argue semantics.
__________________
Chuck Norris can start a fire by rubbing two ice cubes together.
480sparky is online now  
Old 11-17-2017, 10:37 PM   #17
Pro
 
tjbnwi's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cedar Tucky, Indiana
Posts: 7,259
Rewards Points: 980

Re: Tone Generators


Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
It's possible. But you want to argue semantics.
Sure...

Tom
tjbnwi is online now  
Old 11-18-2017, 01:52 PM   #18
Goin' Down in Flames....
 
Seven-Delta-FortyOne's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder/GC
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere Between Heaven And Hell
Posts: 2,836
Rewards Points: 1,710

Re: Tone Generators


Or you could get one for live wires......



https://www.amazon.com/Zircon-Breake...breaker+finder


And a toner for disconnected circuits.......

https://www.amazon.com/Greenlee-701K...nlee+toner+kit




By the way, these are the 2 that I have and use.




Delta

Advertisement

__________________
I have an Edifice Complex.
Seven-Delta-FortyOne is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Seven-Delta-FortyOne For This Useful Post:
rselectric1 (11-18-2017)


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are generators only a rural concern? Cricket General Discussion 33 08-25-2014 08:24 PM
Tone and probe fun TWX Low Voltage 19 09-18-2012 12:12 AM
Portable jobsite generators Aztec Tools & Equipment 31 01-22-2012 02:22 PM
24V test probe with audible tone gastek HVAC 4 04-10-2011 08:38 AM
Two Tone Paint, How Much To Charge? A. Spruce Painting & Finish Work 7 12-14-2010 12:12 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?