Smart Light Switch Circuit - Electrical - Contractor Talk

Smart Light Switch Circuit

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-06-2005, 06:46 PM   #1
Member
 
toastermaker's Avatar
 
Trade: electrical
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 49
Rewards Points: 25

Smart Light Switch Circuit


I will be working on a three way switched light circuit. It is apparently an upscale installation. This is the first time I have seen this.

The switch at one location is either tied in to a controller or is itself some kind of smart switch.

It has both motion detection, timing and a rocker style wall switch at that location.(top of the stairs that go from ground level to the first floor)

The other location (bottom of the stairs) is missing the switch, but I believe it to have been a more (though not completely) standard rocker style switch. My best guess is that it was a momentary-on switch. <I will tell why I think that if it would help someone help me.>

My problem is I will have to replace the missing switch. I am hoping someone can point me in the right direction?

Do these type of installations have usual and customary hardware as far as the "dumb" switch goes?

I know how to wire a standard three way switch circuit. Please don't feel you need to explain a basic three way switch circuit to me.

Thanks for any help and replies,
toastermaker is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 12-06-2005, 08:44 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 744
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Smart Light Switch Circuit


I have installed those before. You will need a pair for them to work. It will not take a "dumb" switch.

Advertisement

__________________
We are the people (our parents warned us about) (Jimmy Buffett)
jbfan is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 10:01 PM   #3
New Guy
 
toddgotfish's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrician
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Smart Light Switch Circuit


you will need a master , and a slave. it will not wire as a standard three way either.hope this helps
toddgotfish is offline  
   
 
Old 12-06-2005, 10:06 PM   #4
DGR,IABD
 
mdshunk's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical; Commercial and Residential Service
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central PA
Posts: 9,683
Rewards Points: 2,002

Re: Smart Light Switch Circuit


You almost always need manufacturer specific data for these "system" type multi location switches. Every brand and model is screwy in its own special way. I did install some Zenith brand occupancy sensing switches once that would inter-tie with standard 3ways and 4ways if need be. You might have to get the brand and model off the existing switch and pull up some data on the net or call their tech support line.
mdshunk is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 05:47 AM   #5
Member
 
toastermaker's Avatar
 
Trade: electrical
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 49
Rewards Points: 25

Re: Smart Light Switch Circuit


Thanks everyone,


I will stop by the job site as soon as I can and look for
manufactures information on the available switch.
At least I now have some basic understanding and
commom terminology thanks to all of you. That will
help me alot as I proceed.

Thanks again,
toastermaker is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 08:21 AM   #6
Pro
 
K2's Avatar
 
Trade: Colorado master electrician, EC, B-1 GC
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Colorado Front Range
Posts: 2,603
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Smart Light Switch Circuit


I have an occupancy sensor here to a standard 3-way but my experience is that the sensors don't last forever which may be the reason someone pulled out your bottom switch. It might end up less expensive to replace both parts. I do like sensors for a number of reasons even it they can be fickle.
K2 is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 09:41 PM   #7
Pro
 
Mike Finley's Avatar
 
Trade: Bathroom Remodeling
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 14,078
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Smart Light Switch Circuit


I tried one of those. I thought it would be great in our hallway coming in from the garage so when you come in with groceries in your hands you don't have to fumble for the switch. I went through 2 different brands, never got them to work right. The best I got out of it was one worked for about a 3 days. I love the idea, I just can't get it to work for some reason.
Mike Finley is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 10:45 PM   #8
Pro
 
K2's Avatar
 
Trade: Colorado master electrician, EC, B-1 GC
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Colorado Front Range
Posts: 2,603
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Smart Light Switch Circuit


I think most of them need a neutral which may not be available in all situations. Of course that would not make it fail after 3 days. My part time job had a contract with the school district for 120 schools over a 5 year period with some occupancy sensors. After about 1 year the change order came in to eliminate the os's we put in and to delete them from the rest of the contract. Several brands were tried. Lamp life was one issue but there were failures also.

Advertisement

K2 is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
light switch plate blank darren Electrical 12 06-14-2007 07:06 PM
Light switch lock darren Electrical 10 05-08-2007 07:08 PM
Light Switch at Landing? thom Electrical 22 04-01-2007 10:10 PM
Inground pool light circuit louis bugaj Electrical 28 11-07-2006 10:19 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?