tags, as close as possible to the opening tag. Creation Date: 12/20/2017 -->

Should You Still Wire For Cable TV

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2017, 05:53 PM   #21
Pro
 
Stryker1-1's Avatar
 
Trade: Low Voltage Systems
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 667
Rewards Points: 1,346

Re: Should You Still Wire For Cable TV


I look at it this way a box of bulk coax is 60$ or less I can pull 3 wires just as easy as 2.

A extra keystone jack and your talking a total of 80$ extra to run coax to any place you are running erhernet.

Sent from my SM-G870W using Tapatalk
Stryker1-1 is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 01-07-2018, 10:04 PM   #22
Pro
 
Hardly Working's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle,WA
Posts: 1,009
Rewards Points: 808

Re: Should You Still Wire For Cable TV


We run cable to a “OnQ” panel with smurf tube running from top to bottom on the house just in case they want more drops. We run RG6 & cat6 to the living room, rec room and master bedroom standard.
Hardly Working is offline  
Old 01-08-2018, 05:36 AM   #23
Pro
 
builditguy's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 414

Re: Should You Still Wire For Cable TV


We don't run cable.

We do, however, install boxes and install conduit, when possible.

Depends on location. We are a long way from wireless, here. Most internet is still extremely slow. My mother's internet is less than 1mbps.

I let the cable/dish company run their own wires. I will install boxes, chases, covers, where the homeowner wants.

Someday it will all be wireless. I'm ready for it.
builditguy is offline  
   
 
Old 01-13-2018, 10:50 PM   #24
Member
 
ComRemodel's Avatar
 
Trade: electrical
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 50
Rewards Points: 140

Re: Should You Still Wire For Cable TV


Any time now we are going to see the demise of RF over coax TV for "over the top" IPTV which works like Netflix or Hulu. That means CAT6 and WiFi, no more coax.

-Hal
ComRemodel is offline  
Old 05-26-2018, 03:36 PM   #25
Registered User
 
RLH_CT's Avatar
 
Trade: GC/Finish work
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: NorCal
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 16

Re: Should You Still Wire For Cable TV


Not an electrician but I have some experience working with digital video production and distribution at a well-known national video network. A few things to consider:

- there's good digital video, and there's webcrap. Typical streaming "HD" video runs 2-4 megabits a second, vs the 15-19 mbps that is delivered by the originating network's distribution feed - or the 1.5-3 Gigabit per second stream that was used to author the content. Your internet-sourced video can be any of the above but is rarely as good as it could/should be.
- shielded co-ax can carry a remarkable amount of data: depending on the RF modulation scheme and channel bonding protocol, a typical 1 GHz residential co-ax plant can carry 6-10 Gbps of data, with extraordinary reliability and no interference from noisy devices like household appliances, lawn mowers and pumps, or all kinds of other things that make wireless data throw up.
- "Ethernet over coax" and "Ethernet over power line" are used routinely in millions of homes today, and are proven commodities - but Ethernet over coax currently delivers higher bit rates and fewer problems from line noise vs powerline networks.

Why would you care about any of this when all your customers watch (today) is Netflix at 3 megabits/stream? Because 4K, even crappy 4K, needs at least 15 mbps per stream to look ok (and to my eye, anything under 40mbps per stream loses so much color fidelity that there's no value to the resolution) and 8K is coming - along with 100" screens, VR games and toys, and currently unknown applications from the Internet of Things that may use gobs of bandwidth.

Co-ax isn't expensive, it's a cost-effective way to ensure data delivery throughout the house, is an excellent partner to a well designed wi-fi network, and will add value for years to come. Just my opinion, I do not own any shares in (or work for ) a company that provides any aspect of cable service or co-ax installation services... but i'm building a new house, and it will include co-ax throughout.
RLH_CT is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RLH_CT For This Useful Post:
mrcat (05-27-2018), overanalyze (05-27-2018)
Old 05-27-2018, 12:08 PM   #26
Member
 
inthe6's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry/Renovations
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Toronto
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 126

Re: Should You Still Wire For Cable TV


I believe you should at least wire in coax in a family room, and even a master bedroom. Even if you add in an extra one here and there for multiple locations you would be good. Rough in one phone line too at a kitchen area, just in case someone does want to have a land line installed. Then just drop everything down to the electrical panel area and let the telecom company do the rest.
inthe6 is offline  
Old 05-27-2018, 12:52 PM   #27
Pro
 
Stryker1-1's Avatar
 
Trade: Low Voltage Systems
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 667
Rewards Points: 1,346

Re: Should You Still Wire For Cable TV


Telco won't touch things past the demarcation point for free.

Skip the telephone line and run cat6 they can then use it for phone or Ethernet.

If running coax it's just as easy to pull cat5 or 6 to the same locations.
Quote:
Originally Posted by inthe6 View Post
I believe you should at least wire in coax in a family room, and even a master bedroom. Even if you add in an extra one here and there for multiple locations you would be good. Rough in one phone line too at a kitchen area, just in case someone does want to have a land line installed. Then just drop everything down to the electrical panel area and let the telecom company do the rest.
Sent from my SM-G870W using Tapatalk
Stryker1-1 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Stryker1-1 For This Useful Post:
overanalyze (05-27-2018)
Old 05-27-2018, 02:41 PM   #28
Registered User
 
RLH_CT's Avatar
 
Trade: GC/Finish work
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: NorCal
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 16

Re: Should You Still Wire For Cable TV


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stryker1-1 View Post
...
Skip the telephone line and run cat6 they can then use it for phone or Ethernet.
...
I'm skipping the phone line all the way from the pole, actually - I'll leave an extra conduit with pull tape in the joint trench for the eventual FTTH that will deliver terabits of data, but no AT&T land line. The design engineer was upset with that: "EVERYONE has a land line"... which might have been mostly true even 10 years ago, but no more. If I ever want one, I'll use an IP connection to create it.

Advertisement

RLH_CT is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Down Idle wire broke on Rigid pressure washer Jas2012 Pressure Washing 8 06-19-2013 05:31 PM
3-way wiring- ceiling fan with remote for two-wire hookup hevnbnd Electrical 29 08-17-2009 10:28 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?