Residential Windmill

Old 01-07-2017, 02:20 PM   #1
Pro

Trade: Flooring & cabinetry
Rewards Points: 268

Residential Windmill

Hey Everyone:

My background is not electrical, and I have never received an answer from anyone on this question that was definitive.

We've had windmills for centuries, and have used them to make electrical power for decades. My understanding is to use them in a home, you have to have a bank of batteries and inverter or transformer. The windmill actually re-charges the batteries, and the home runs off the batteries.

My question is, if I had a windmill on my roof, why couldn't I use whatever power it produces without a battery system? When it is turning, I get electric. If it isn't producing enough, I run on the power lines coming into the house. There would be some kind of transformer and have to run it through a power filter of some kind to "merge" the sources and prevent spikes, I guess.

Is this totally not doable, eliminating the clumsy and expensive batteries in exchange for accepting it will be only part of my power supply?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 01-07-2017, 02:43 PM   #2
John the Builder

Trade: Carpenter/Builder
Rewards Points: 9,728

Re: Residential Windmill

Quote:
Originally Posted by KG007 View Post
My background is not electrical, and I have never received an answer from anyone on this question that was definitive.
.................................................. ...................................

Is this totally not doable, eliminating the clumsy and expensive batteries in exchange for accepting it will be only part of my power supply?