Power To Kitchen Island

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-31-2006, 09:38 PM   #1
Valley Springs,ca
 
bmartin's Avatar
 
Trade: General and Landscape contractor
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Valley Springs,Ca
Posts: 105
Rewards Points: 75

Power To Kitchen Island


What is the correct way to run electric to a kitchen island. I figured on romex to a splice box in the attic and stranded from there through the conduit into a junction box in the island. The power comes from another small appliance outlet not the panel. Thanks for any help.
bmartin is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   
 

Old 01-31-2006, 09:41 PM   #2
DGR,IABD
 
mdshunk's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical; Commercial and Residential Service
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central PA
Posts: 9,682
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Power To Kitchen Island


The design you propose, while unusual, is compliant. Any wiring method that puts the required receptacle(s) on the island that complies with article 300 is compliant, and therefore correct.

mdshunk is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 10:01 PM   #3
Repair/Remodeling Tech.
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Trade: Repair and Remodeling Services
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,253
Rewards Points: 94

Re: Power To Kitchen Island


Why not come from the bottom? A basement or crawl space. If the panel is above that level, I would take it down through a wall then back up through the floor under the cabinets, then there's no conduit coming down the middle of your kitchen. Just MHO, there may be circumstances I don't know about (probably are).
__________________
Jim P.
jproffer is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 10:19 PM   #4
Pro
 
old27's Avatar
 
Trade: Work
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 262
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Power To Kitchen Island


interesting question.
old27 is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 11:38 PM   #5
Valley Springs,ca
 
bmartin's Avatar
 
Trade: General and Landscape contractor
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Valley Springs,Ca
Posts: 105
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Power To Kitchen Island


It is a slab foundation. Conduit is stubbed to location but i cannot pull romex through a conduit. All wire must be rated for wet location like thhw.
bmartin is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 11:41 PM   #6
Valley Springs,ca
 
bmartin's Avatar
 
Trade: General and Landscape contractor
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Valley Springs,Ca
Posts: 105
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Power To Kitchen Island


Is there another typed of sheathed cable I can use in the conduit and still make the connection in the the other receptacle box without having to change wire types. How do you usually get power to an island in a slab foundation.

Last edited by bmartin; 02-01-2006 at 11:17 AM.
bmartin is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 04:17 PM   #7
electrical contractor
 
bigjay's Avatar
 
Trade: electrical
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sacramento Ca
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25

Re: Power To Kitchen Island


I usually mount a bracketed 4" square box with 1/2" knockouts in lieu of the plastic single gang box (at kitchen wall receptacle)and put a single gang raised metal ring for finish. I have pvc pipe in the slab and transition to steel/aluminum flex at each end(from pvc pipe to box). Then you can pull
stranded/solid thhn/thwn wire from point to point. If you run stranded, pigtail
with solid wire in the boxes when you splice to go to your finish(devices,recepts). This way makes the transition easy.
bigjay is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 06:10 PM   #8
Valley Springs,ca
 
bmartin's Avatar
 
Trade: General and Landscape contractor
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Valley Springs,Ca
Posts: 105
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Power To Kitchen Island


Big Jay
Thank you I like that idea better than having to climb in the attic after sheetrock is finished to fish some wires. Also the location of the 4" box would be considered the dining room (it's in the kitchen but not along a countertop). I believe that plug can be on the same circuit as the small appliance circuit. Is that correct?
bmartin is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 06:19 PM   #9
Pro
 
Teetorbilt's Avatar
 
Trade: Residential Contractor
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 10,474
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Power To Kitchen Island


We use a variety of methods to get to the now popular island.

A decorative and sometimes supportive column is the least expensive and least desireable, everyone wants 'open space' today.

Second is raised flooring in the kitch. Raise the entire floor on sleepers and pass the conduit underneath. Done gradually enough, I like the results.

Third, notch the slab. You have to be careful here due to supporting walls, etc. It's also dirty.

Fourth, dig under the slab and backfill or go to small directional boring. Very expensive and your 'last ditch' effort.
__________________
You can't solve you're problems with the same level of thinking that created the problems.

Albert Einstein
Teetorbilt is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 06:24 PM   #10
DGR,IABD
 
mdshunk's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical; Commercial and Residential Service
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central PA
Posts: 9,682
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Power To Kitchen Island


How much power we bringing to this island? If it's just a 20 amp circuit for a receptacle or something, you might have a cable option if that is still your most desirable option. UF cable is rated for a wet location. If your pipe is at least 3/4", you can get a 12-2 UF in it compliantly and without any problem. You'll basically use the stubbed up conduit as a sleeve, and not a complete raceway system. Terminate the UF cable just as you would ordinary romex. This will permit you to use the plastic wall boxes like you originally wanted to.

Just more ideas for the brain...
mdshunk is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 07:35 PM   #11
Pro
 
PipeGuy's Avatar
 
Trade: underground
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Southeast USA
Posts: 3,265
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Power To Kitchen Island


While pricey, I like the new wireless convenience outlets. For a couple of hundred bucks you can get an AC router that'll serve as many as 6 new outlets depending on their rating (15A r 20 A) and distance from the router. The wireless outlets themselves are about $35 on sale.
PipeGuy is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 08:01 PM   #12
Valley Springs,ca
 
bmartin's Avatar
 
Trade: General and Landscape contractor
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Valley Springs,Ca
Posts: 105
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Power To Kitchen Island


Pipeguy
Where do you buy those from I have never seen them before. Do they work near the ocean in Arizona?
bmartin is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 08:11 PM   #13
New Guy
 
seattle_sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrician
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Power To Kitchen Island


I'm waitin for those new wireless services. It's the next thing i'm going to get after my Doctor Who telephone booth.
seattle_sparky is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 09:19 PM   #14
electrical contractor
 
bigjay's Avatar
 
Trade: electrical
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sacramento Ca
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25

Re: Power To Kitchen Island


bmartin- in answer to your question you can put the dining receptacles on with your kitchen small appliance cicuits.In some areas you can use blue plastic ENT inside the wall along with standard pvc fittings and glue. I've
had some inspectors not allow the use of ENT. This is even quicker to install.
You could use the UF cable like Md mentioned also, I don't use the stuff, just out of personal preference.
bigjay is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 12:51 AM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
Romex-Racer's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 50
Rewards Points: 25

Re: Power To Kitchen Island


Pull UF cable through the conduit.

__________________
Whoop! Whoop!
Romex-Racer is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solar Power Industry Dead In California w6ire Electrical 2 06-28-2007 08:57 AM
Bath & Kitchen Remodeler wanted for Upstate SC SCDreamMaker Help Wanted or Looking For Work 0 05-23-2007 09:50 AM
copper top on kitchen island? fci General Discussion 4 01-05-2007 03:58 PM
Power Outage Question? Ron The Plumber HVAC 5 12-20-2006 08:42 AM
Water heater, elec., power surge problem ??? tzzzz216 Plumbing 8 11-05-2006 09:24 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?