No Grounding Wire On Remodel

Old 03-04-2013, 07:54 PM   #1
Pro

Trade: Custom Metal Fabrication/Residential Construction

No Grounding Wire On Remodel

Going to try and simplfy it as much as I can. 60yr old 3 flat, gut renovation on the 1st floor apt. All outlets, switches and lighting were updated at some point with looks like 14 gauge wire, but only 2 wire - no green ground has been found anywhere in the building. Im not an electrician, just contractor. I already know the box is not grounded, I have no problem managing the electrical to code from the box, but thats where I stop - no chance Im grounding anything. Plus homeowner doesnt want the electrician expense so doesnt really matter how much I tell them its a really good idea.

Heres my thought, the job is simple in the fact that we are only relocating outlets and switches to make the room more practical since it will be having a kitchen and living room. My main line is in the same wall that shares the bathroom. The bathroom had a medicine cabinet in the wall that we decided to mount a flat door in its place with mirror over it in order to be able to have a visual in the wall incase there were any future problems. If I wired the room using 12-3 wire instead of 12-2 and put my first junction behind that door - a future electrician would have access to that ground wire without having to chase it throughout the entire apartment.

Do I hook up the ground wire to all my outlets and switches eventhough it is not grounded and leave the line in that main box unattached - OR should I leave the green wire unattached at every box and just roll it up and leave it for future use???