tags, as close as possible to the opening tag. Creation Date: 12/20/2017 -->

New Main Panel Or Sub Panel?

Old 03-07-2015, 07:33 PM   #1

Trade: General Contractor
Rewards Points: 36

New Main Panel Or Sub Panel?

Greetings all.

I'm a general contractor so electrical knowledge is fair, not great. I come across this scenario quite often. Most of the homes around here where I live and work were built in the '50s and '60s and they almost always used 100 AMP main panels. It was enough 50-60 years ago but now inadequate. We have done several main panel upgrades replacing the 100A with a 200A. We have also added sub panels while keeping the main panel in place.

What is the advantage,if any, of replacing the main panel compared to adding a sub panel? Does a 200A main panel provide more amps/volts than the 100A main panel or just more spaces? If yes, does the service wire need to be replaced with a larger one in order to provide more amps/volts?

To avoid having to go through Edison, which is what's necessary when replacing the main panel, why not just add a sub panel with plenty of breaker spaces? It's much cheaper and you can have the sub panel strategically located as well.

I've been asked this question so many times and none of the electricians I've asked have given me a coherent answer.

Thanks in advance.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 03-07-2015, 07:51 PM   #2
Box Builder

Trade: Pretty much anything with wood and some metals
Rewards Points: 8,880

Re: New Main Panel Or Sub Panel?