KOLA Mike

Trade: Roofing, Exteriors, Investor Rehabs, Education
Rewards Points: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to KolaWest
Exclamation

Gould Panel Cover... HELP!

Hey guy n gals,

I'm relatively new here, but I figured I'd ask:

I'm in punch out mode of a townhouse that needs an electrical panel cover.

I threw out the old one, thinking I could find a replacement cover, no problem. Well, needless to say, I'm not an electrician. Tired Grainger and a few other odd supply guys who might have it, but I can't find one anywhere.

I know the whole UL-listing situation, and I'm starting to think I'll never find the 'right' cover (up to code and such, panel is probably from 1991 when the place was built). But, I wanted to see if you guys had a potential solution.

The panel cover is 15.5"x19". This is the measurement from the out side of the 'paint lines' that the old cover filled. It has 100 AMP service in it, and a bunch of Gould breakers. There is no manufacturer name on the panel box itself, just on the breakers.

The reason I tossed the old one is because it was all rusted and I figured I could find a replacement cover for $30-ish, and now I'm up a proverbial tree. I'm not in a position that I can replace the whole panel, nor was it part of the contract to do so. Obviously, I'm not going to walk away until I find something that works and is relatively safe.

Can anyone help me find a solution to this? Is there any flush mounted universal doors that aren't necessarily 'code', but will do the trick?

THANKS!!

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 02-25-2011, 09:56 AM   #2
Capra aegagrus

Trade: Remodeler
Rewards Points: 3,506