Garage Door Opener Outet Goes Where?

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-30-2008, 04:16 PM   #1
Pro
 
personalt's Avatar
 
Trade: GC/Developer
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 109
Rewards Points: 75

Garage Door Opener Outet Goes Where?


You know are you are a city slicker when you have no idea where to mount the garage door outlet.

Last time a saw a garage door opener was back in my childhood.

My thought is the garage door is 10 feet high, the opener sits above the door near the top of the door? Maybe 9 feet off the front wall? Outlet a little bit to the side?

Not looking to fish it in later since it is above living space and the plan is to heavly insulate that ceiling plus double sheet rock.

I know I can surface mount with flex or condiut later but would rather not do that assuming there is a standard location.
personalt is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   
 

Old 01-30-2008, 04:59 PM   #2
Thom
 
thom's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor/Homebuilder
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 4,052
Rewards Points: 2,942

Re: Garage Door Opener Outet Goes Where?


A standard garage door is 7' high. If your is higher, adjust.

The opener track is the full length of the door height (7') plus about a foot. The motor unit is about 10" long. So.

I mount the receptacle about 6" off center and about 8' back from the door.


Don't forget your low-voltage. One wire to the man-door into the house (for the opener button) and one to each side of the door (bottom of door) for the sensors. All terminate a couple inches from the door receptacle.


Last edited by thom; 01-30-2008 at 05:02 PM.
thom is online now  
Old 01-30-2008, 06:13 PM   #3
Pro
 
GregS's Avatar
 
Trade: Low Voltage
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Burlington, Ontario
Posts: 1,449
Rewards Points: 502

Re: Garage Door Opener Outet Goes Where?


Holy crap! THANK YOU for asking!

I install at least a few openers a week and always having outlet issues.

Your standard Chamberlain OEM'ed operator comes with a 1 metre power cord. They state that using an extension cord could void the warranty, so a hardwired outlet is required.

So yes, 8' back from the door, centre of the car port. Other considerations are how high the ceiling is. If it's >30" there is also a high chance of the cord not reaching.

And I love what thom said, running the low voltage over to the wall control and down to the sensors. A 22g pair to each location is fine for Chamberlain OEM'ed units.

I wish production builders would pay attention to the little things like this.
GregS is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 06:27 PM   #4
Pro
 
Patrick's Avatar
 
Trade: Siding, Windows, Seamless Gutters, Metal Roofing
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,169
Rewards Points: 2,296

Re: Garage Door Opener Outet Goes Where?


I always see the low voltage wire stapled to the drywall, and then painted over to ensure it sticks
__________________
Originally Posted by Celtic
Like I said...I'm sure you are very good at what you do ~ whatever that is and where ever it happens.
Patrick is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 11:16 PM   #5
Service & Repairs
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrician
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rahway, New Jersey
Posts: 4,000
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Garage Door Opener Outet Goes Where?


I install the receptacle, but never the LV wiring for the control. This must make the garage door opener guys feel important. By the way, what do you guys do when there is a high ceiling and the cord doesn't reach? In the past the general contractor has bought and installed an extension cord but I'm curious to know if any other professionals have a better idea for something like this.

thanks
Magnettica is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 08:54 AM   #6
Pro
 
Bkessler's Avatar
 
Trade: electrician
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orange county California
Posts: 668
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Garage Door Opener Outet Goes Where?


my gd outlet has always been center at 10' back. I have never had a problem.
Bkessler is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 04:29 PM   #7
Pro
 
excellencee's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 159
Rewards Points: 150

Re: Garage Door Opener Outet Goes Where?


I always install the receptacle: height of the door plus 4' and one foot offcenter. I had an opener guy ask for this and I've never had a problem since.
excellencee is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 06:10 PM   #8
DGR,IABD
 
mdshunk's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical; Commercial and Residential Service
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central PA
Posts: 9,682
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Garage Door Opener Outet Goes Where?


I always do height of door, plus 16" and 6" off center. Seems like it works out. I always do the LV, mostly because I hate the looks of it when the GDO contractor runs it. I just run 2-conductor thermostat wire, since I always have that handy for chime buttons. I run one to each side of the door, and one to the button location. I also run one between each door sensor, since I am aware of a couple brands that need a wire between each door sensor.
mdshunk is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 08:21 PM   #9
Pro
 
GregS's Avatar
 
Trade: Low Voltage
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Burlington, Ontario
Posts: 1,449
Rewards Points: 502

Re: Garage Door Opener Outet Goes Where?


It's be nice to have the LV installed behind the drywall. I've had people ask me to do that, after the drywall is already up, and they scoff when I tell them it would be twice the cost of installing the opener itself.

I always end up stapling it as neat and tidy as their budget permits.
GregS is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 08:23 PM   #10
Pro
 
GregS's Avatar
 
Trade: Low Voltage
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Burlington, Ontario
Posts: 1,449
Rewards Points: 502

Re: Garage Door Opener Outet Goes Where?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnettica View Post
By the way, what do you guys do when there is a high ceiling and the cord doesn't reach?
I usually tell the HO that if they want to install an extension cord after I leave, it's up to them, but I won't install it for them. I follow that up with if they do use one that 14g and as short as possible.
GregS is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 08:35 PM   #11
Registered User
 
genexelectric's Avatar
 
Trade: electrical contractor
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Garage Door Opener Outet Goes Where?


to magnetica high celings ? just stub the nm cable out standard 1 foot back from given height of door then just sleev with flex and metal box?? or j box it and put so cord on it?
genexelectric is offline  
Old 02-04-2008, 06:25 PM   #12
Pro
 
GregS's Avatar
 
Trade: Low Voltage
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Burlington, Ontario
Posts: 1,449
Rewards Points: 502

Re: Garage Door Opener Outet Goes Where?


What a co-incidence.. here's an opener that I hung tonight.

Electrical outlet was short by about 4" and the light was exactly where an opener would go.

I've hung several hundred openers in this builders houses over the last 5 years, and I haven't had a problem with their placements for the last few. I told the homeowners that they probably got a new apprentice to do their garage and to call their builder and see if they'll move it for them.
Attached Thumbnails
Garage Door opener outet goes where?-photo_020408_002.jpg  
GregS is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 08:14 AM   #13
Member
 
te12c02w's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Garage Door Opener Outet Goes Where?


We used to put the receptacle 1-1/2' to 2' farther back than the door height and about 1' off center. Recently, in the last 2 or 3 years, it seems that a couple of installers have been using a standard opener length even if it is obviously longer than the door height. Don't know if that is to cut back on inventory or maybe that is what they just happened to have. Anyway, we've missed the mark by as much a 2' a couple of times because of this. Fortunately the gc has been in agreement with us about the reason. We will continue to use our regular rough in though. We just finished a rough in where the garage ceiling is 4-1/2' higher then the opener. We put a receptacle where it would have been it the ceiling had been lower and told them they would have to deal with it from there.
__________________
Jim R
te12c02w is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 11:29 AM   #14
Pro
 
macmikeman's Avatar
 
Trade: Master Electrican, Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 381
Rewards Points: 276

Re: Garage Door Opener Outet Goes Where?


11 foot back from the garage door header, center line with the motor. Vaulted ceilings I will bring enough romex thru the drywall to attach a 4" square box to the motor mounting brackets so that the extension cord non option is not used. I always run the low voltage for the sensors, but I also always provide money for doing so in the proposal.
macmikeman is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 04:41 PM   #15
Registered User
 
kcel's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Garage Door Opener Outet Goes Where?


I always take the door height plus 4 ft. It seems to work for any size door.
kcel is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 02:14 PM   #16
Member
 
sniperelectech's Avatar
 
Trade: electrical contractor
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Burlington, NC
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 25

Re: Garage Door Opener Outet Goes Where?


Quote:
Originally Posted by personalt View Post
You know are you are a city slicker when you have no idea where to mount the garage door outlet.

Last time a saw a garage door opener was back in my childhood.

My thought is the garage door is 10 feet high, the opener sits above the door near the top of the door? Maybe 9 feet off the front wall? Outlet a little bit to the side?

Not looking to fish it in later since it is above living space and the plan is to heavly insulate that ceiling plus double sheet rock.

I know I can surface mount with flex or condiut later but would rather not do that assuming there is a standard location.
Hire an Qualified Electrician and stop doing illegal electrical work. Or just install it at the bottom right post of the door opening.

sniperelectech is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage receptacle ChuckEA Electrical 21 04-27-2011 06:45 PM
garage insulation maderuyck HVAC 2 03-18-2007 11:43 AM
Laminate Wood Flooring Over An Old Garage Floor mjm0073 Flooring 1 01-30-2007 09:42 PM
Flat roof over garage leaking under exterior walk out door IHI Roofing 18 05-30-2006 09:28 PM
...continued...garage floor drain progress carlspackler Plumbing 0 05-27-2006 01:54 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?