Electrical Riser Diagram

Old 02-08-2007, 09:32 AM   #1

Trade: No

Electrical Riser Diagram

I am an electrical design engineer for residential and commercial buildings. I started this job a week ago. Can some one help me understand what is electrical riser diagram?

Does anyone has sample PDF or DWG file which shows the electrical riser diagram?

I know how to size panel board and calculate wire sizes.

This will really help me in my job... Thank you so much in advance.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 02-08-2007, 04:16 PM   #2
DGR,IABD

Trade: Electrical; Commercial and Residential Service

Re: Electrical Riser Diagram

A riser diagram just shows the feeders from the service to the MDP, and onward to any transformers, subpanels, MCC's, and similar load side distribution equipment. Everything except the branch circuits.

Old 02-08-2007, 04:58 PM   #3
Union Electrician

Trade: Inside Wireman

It's also called a "one line diagram"
Don't you have any prints laying around your office?
Every commercial print I've seen has a riser diagram.
Old 02-08-2007, 05:26 PM   #4
DGR,IABD

Here's a little piece of a riser diagram:

Old 02-09-2007, 07:54 AM   #5

Thanks guys...

We dont have any kind of drawings in our office. The department I work for was a mechanical, plumbing and sturctural engineering department. Now they have started bringing electrical work.

how could you size conducters and conduits?

thanks again.
Old 02-09-2007, 09:35 AM   #6
Pro

Trade: Consultant

Quote:
Originally Posted by nehal101083 View Post

how could you size conducters and conduits?
OK, now you're scaring me......