550v

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2017, 09:33 PM   #1
I like Green things
 
WarnerConstInc.'s Avatar
 
Trade: Architectural Mill Work
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In a van, down by the river. Auburn, IN
Posts: 21,487
Rewards Points: 2,708

550v


Need to power up a 550v machine.

Have a transformer kicking around that is 600v/208v, but I have 480v and 240v available. I am afraid even with the low taps I will be pushing 630v.

I believe a 208/480 transformer fed 240v should give me 552v.

Short of that route (easy to find and fairly cheap) I could try and find a 480v/600v with taps to lower output voltage.

Any suggestions?

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
__________________
Warner Mill Works
Facebook
YouTube
WarnerConstInc. is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 10-29-2017, 09:53 PM   #2
Pro
 
tjbnwi's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cedar Tucky, Indiana
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 362

Re: 550v


Variac.

http://www.variac.com/Staco/PDFCutSh...20Selector.pdf

Tom

Advertisement

tjbnwi is offline  
Old 10-29-2017, 10:03 PM   #3
I like Green things
 
WarnerConstInc.'s Avatar
 
Trade: Architectural Mill Work
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In a van, down by the river. Auburn, IN
Posts: 21,487
Rewards Points: 2,708

Re: 550v


Quote:
Originally Posted by tjbnwi View Post
Small boost transformers.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
__________________
Warner Mill Works
Facebook
YouTube
WarnerConstInc. is offline  
   
 
Old 10-29-2017, 10:59 PM   #4
I like Green things
 
WarnerConstInc.'s Avatar
 
Trade: Architectural Mill Work
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In a van, down by the river. Auburn, IN
Posts: 21,487
Rewards Points: 2,708

Re: 550v


It's a possibility that the machine is still 230/460 And that it was 'converted' to 550v. It came from moose jaw SK, and that was a fairly typical thing to be done. By converted I mean replace to 230/460 original switch gear with 550/600v stuff and run a 460v motor off 550v. Dang Canadians.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
__________________
Warner Mill Works
Facebook
YouTube
WarnerConstInc. is offline  
Old 10-29-2017, 11:03 PM   #5
Pro
 
tjbnwi's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cedar Tucky, Indiana
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 362

Re: 550v


My experience with Variacs is making test equipment for ship lighting. 440 volt if I remember correctly.

Tom
tjbnwi is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 phase setup nivek Electrical 12 04-06-2016 11:54 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?