300 Amp Service

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-15-2008, 10:45 PM   #21
Pro
 
nap's Avatar
 
Trade: sparky
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 591

Re: 300 Amp Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
If it is a meter socket, and the mains are in the panels, you can either bond at the meter socket and the bond your panels to the neutral, or you can bond at the weather head and bond your panels to the neutral.
going to have to explain that one 277. per NEC 250.24 bonding must be in service enclosure.

Not sure what you have going on with the meter base and the weather head thing.
nap is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   
 

Old 03-15-2008, 10:53 PM   #22
Pro
 
nap's Avatar
 
Trade: sparky
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 591

Re: 300 Amp Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnettica View Post
I have a 300 amp, 120/ 240 Volt single-phase service to install. I plan on mounting (2) 200 amp main breaker panels. I don't want to come out of the 320 amp meter base twice with 2 pieces of conduit (1 to each panel), so can I run one conduit with three 250 kcmil conductors to a trough and tap it with 2 sets of 2/0 conductors to each panel? The trough will mounted above each MB panel.
How are you classifying this as a 300 amp service? I believe it is going to be a POCO call (maybe inspector but I think POCO) but I suspect this will be considered (at least) a 320 service so 350's would be correct, not 250's.

and trough above each panel? In the basement?

Where are you going to come out for the branch circuits? Going to get real messy with the feeders on top.
nap is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 10:55 PM   #23
DGR,IABD
 
mdshunk's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical; Commercial and Residential Service
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central PA
Posts: 9,682

Re: 300 Amp Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
How are you classifying this as a 300 amp service?
I think John really likes round numbers

I have already shimmed out my trough with 3/4" Kindorf at each end to run the branch circuit conductors behind it. I have no idea what John has in mind, but he seems like a pretty smart guy to me. He might even put the gutter below the panels.
mdshunk is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 10:57 PM   #24
Pro
 
nap's Avatar
 
Trade: sparky
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 591

Re: 300 Amp Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
If you have the space in the first panel, you could use a large(3") nipple from the meter to the first panel, and a 2" nipple between panels and chase the second set of conductors through the first panel to the next. I don't have my Code book with me today, left it on the job, but I think it is addressed in 312.8 (or maybe 312.6, not sure). Should be legal and neat.

InPhase277
you would have to do a fill calc to determine if this is allowable (312.8). I find it generally easier to not run through the panels. Inspectors sometimes give grief about it as well.
nap is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 11:00 PM   #25
Pro
 
nap's Avatar
 
Trade: sparky
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 591

Re: 300 Amp Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by mdshunk View Post
I think John really likes round numbers

I have already shimmed out my trough with 3/4" Kindorf at each end to run the branch circuit conductors behind it. I have no idea what John has in mind, but he seems like a pretty smart guy to me. He might even put the gutter below the panels.
he stated prev that he was considering above the panels. How about vertical between the panels? with a nip between the panel and the trough?

he also said he was using 250's which is not large enough for a 320 service.
nap is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 11:05 PM   #26
DGR,IABD
 
mdshunk's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical; Commercial and Residential Service
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central PA
Posts: 9,682

Re: 300 Amp Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
he stated prev that he was considering above the panels. How about vertical between the panels? with a nip between the panel and the trough?
How 'bout it? Sounds like one quite reasonable method to me.
mdshunk is offline  
Old 03-15-2008, 11:27 PM   #27
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
InPhase277's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 117

Re: 300 Amp Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
going to have to explain that one 277. per NEC 250.24 bonding must be in service enclosure.

Not sure what you have going on with the meter base and the weather head thing.
You hit the nail right on the head there: 250.24(A)(1)

250.24(A)(1):

Quote:
General
The connection shall be made at any accessible point from the load end of the service drop or service lateral to and including the terminal or bus to which the grounded service conductor is connected at the service disconnecting means.
This means that you can tie your GEC into any accessible point on the load side of the service. You could run it up the building and crimp it onto the service drop if you wished. You could tie it into the neutral in the meter can, although this isn't generally "accessible". We usually tie it into the neutral at the main.

There are at least three points where you can bond the GEC to the service neutral.

InPhase277
InPhase277 is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 12:01 AM   #28
Service & Repairs
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrician
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Rahway, New Jersey
Posts: 4,000

Re: 300 Amp Service


I'm a little under the weather but here goes...

#1, this will be an underground service

#2, the main disconnect (s) will be (2) 200 main breaker panels.

#3, the trough issue above both panels has been scrapped (as mentioned here, I thought about the branch circuits being in the way)

#4, I just want opinions on the best way to bond both panels with my #2AWG water piping system GEC and my #4 concrete-encased GEC.

#5, I am going to scrap the 3" conduit idea just do 2 runs of 2" one to each panel.
Magnettica is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 12:02 AM   #29
DGR,IABD
 
mdshunk's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical; Commercial and Residential Service
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central PA
Posts: 9,682

Re: 300 Amp Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnettica View Post
#4, I just want opinions on the best way to bond both panels with my #2AWG water piping system GEC and my #4 concrete-encased GEC.
I generally do a tap to each panel.
mdshunk is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 12:26 AM   #30
Pro
 
nap's Avatar
 
Trade: sparky
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 591

Re: 300 Amp Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
You hit the nail right on the head there: 250.24(A)(1)

250.24(A)(1):



This means that you can tie your GEC into any accessible point on the load side of the service. You could run it up the building and crimp it onto the service drop if you wished. You could tie it into the neutral in the meter can, although this isn't generally "accessible". We usually tie it into the neutral at the main.

There are at least three points where you can bond the GEC to the service neutral.

InPhase277
You posted that inbetween your discussion of the EGC and the GEC. Did not know to what you were referring.

around here, you are going to get hassled unless it is in the panel tub. POCO is not allowing it in the meter base either.

Now above, you also a a bit confusing where you state:

Quote:
This means that you can tie your GEC into any accessible point on the load side of the service
maybe "line" side of the service or maybe you intended load side of the service "lateral" or "drop".

I guess I am just being picky.
nap is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 12:36 AM   #31
DGR,IABD
 
mdshunk's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical; Commercial and Residential Service
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central PA
Posts: 9,682

Re: 300 Amp Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
I guess I am just being picky.
Yeah, go to bed, and start tomorrow with a fresh outlook.
mdshunk is offline  
Old 03-16-2008, 01:08 AM   #32
Pro
 
nap's Avatar
 
Trade: sparky
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 591

Re: 300 Amp Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by mdshunk View Post
Yeah, go to bed, and start tomorrow with a fresh outlook.
I think I will take that advice.

Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night.

nap is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cheap Tips On Surviving An Economic Slowdown Ed the Roofer Marketing & Sales 9 03-13-2011 09:27 PM
Service Magic's new service Grumpy Marketing & Sales 12 08-02-2008 03:31 PM
Difference between new work and service mdshunk Business 2 09-09-2007 12:19 PM
Can anyone make any sense out of this? Teetorbilt Technology 24 04-16-2007 11:21 AM
May offer a New Service ?? tzzzz216 General Discussion 15 07-16-2006 11:00 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?