Start Bidding On Commercial Jobs

Old 01-12-2012, 05:06 PM   #1

Trade: drywall/remodeling
Rewards Points: 10

Start Bidding On Commercial Jobs

Drywall Sub
I'm thinking about bidding on some smaller commercial drywall projects to include meta stud framing and the grid. I have been doing this type of work for 20+ years (just never estimating commercial jobs). Just wondering how much money I need to cover material, etc. I will be doing the labor with my crew and know what I need for labor cost. I am very serious about this, but nervous at the same time. The last few years I have been subbing off of bigger companies.

Thank you in advance!

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 01-12-2012, 05:15 PM   #2
Fire up the BBQ

Trade: GC
Rewards Points: 5,028

Re: Start Bidding On Commercial Jobs

Estimating materials correctly is a key aspect of bidding. If you've been in the trade for 20 years you should have a pretty good idea how to figure material.

In commercial work make certain you use the type of material that is spec'd out, not what you think will work.

It is very unlikely you will get any advance money in commercial work. You will have to front the materials.

Establish accounts at the supply houses you will need. One can generally get an "over the phone price" to get a ball park figure on materials. Make up a material list and ask the supply house for a quote.

Don't forget that you will need to cover your overhead also.

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to griz For This Useful Post:
d-rock (01-19-2012), greg24k (01-12-2012), Myers drywall (01-12-2012)
Old 01-12-2012, 06:18 PM   #3

Trade: commercial and residential renovation