Old Plaster Repair

Old 01-30-2007, 05:51 PM   #1

Trade: carpenter
Rewards Points: 10

Old Plaster Repair

Hey all,

This is what I am dealing with: Late 18th century plaster over exterior masonary wall. The wall was absorbing water from a blocked downspout. I believe that I fixed the leaking problem, but there was interior plaster damage. The plaster is approximately, 1 in. thick, horse-hair brown coat over brick. There are 3 sections that are around 1 ft. by 2 ft. that I had to remove down to the brick, because they had just turned to sand. I want to build it back up the right way. I have extensive experience in repairing plaster cracks, so I am familiar with bonding primers, and the use of hot mud and fiberglass tape, but these are not cracks. Any advice would be appreciated.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 02-01-2007, 06:40 AM   #2
Pro

Trade: Plastering, Drywall, Painting, Woodworking, Stucco
Rewards Points: 1,102

Re: Old Plaster Repair

Chris you should do it like the old timers, portland cement, sand and lime trowel it right on the brick let it cure and come back in with plaster and bring your repair up level with the wall surface let cure and prime and paint.

Old 10-16-2008, 10:52 PM   #3
Pro

Trade: DRYWALL PROFESSIONAL
Rewards Points: 1,788