Knockdown Texture

Old 02-13-2010, 11:58 AM   #1

Trade: remodeling, siding, windows, decks
Rewards Points: 75

Knockdown Texture

I have never done this texture before. I would assume I need to use the large orfice on my hopper gun? After spraying do I need to let the mud set up before knocking it down?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 02-13-2010, 03:11 PM   #2
Thom

Trade: General Contractor/Homebuilder
Rewards Points: 2,942

Re: Knockdown Texture

Which texture is that?

Old 02-13-2010, 06:02 PM   #3
Pro

Trade: bricklayer/stonemason
Rewards Points: 312

belive he means the same type of finish a stucco guy would do after dashing a wall...basicly dash ..let it set up then hit it with a trowle to smooth it down and give it a texture...now shure how this would work with a ceiling type texture but belive lve seen this type of texture before in my travels
Old 02-13-2010, 07:09 PM   #4
SEMI RETIRED

Trade: General Contractor
Rewards Points: 3,738

Quote:
Originally Posted by taylorconst View Post
I have never done this texture before. I would assume I need to use the large orfice on my hopper gun? After spraying do I need to let the mud set up before knocking it down?
Yes the larger nozzle. You will need a test spot to fool with the consistency of your mix, air pressure and how long to wait before you hit it with the trowel. You will see the splatter start to bleed on the drywall paper. If your inside with heat it can get away from you quick. All the above will have an effect on you finished pattern, just depends what your looking for. Also how fast you move the gun.

Last edited by griz; 02-13-2010 at 07:35 PM.