Rebar Placement In Dry Stack CMU

Old 06-20-2007, 01:43 PM   #1

Trade: Tile setter
Rewards Points: 10

Rebar Placement In Dry Stack CMU

I’m building a low (3') retaining wall that is essentially 3 sides of a square with 12' sides.

It wasn’t until I found this forum that I realized that I could drystack CMU and fill the voids and have just as strong a wall as a mortared one. So I’d like to build the wall that way since I’m a novice blocklayer and working mortar with a trowel is very time consuming for me.

My question is this:
Since the pressure on the wall is primarily horizontal (the earth pushing against the side) is it best to rebar in vertically in the cells or horizontally (using all bond beam blocks). Or maybe both? Or is that ridiculous overkill for a 3' wall? Would you use all bond beam blocks, or only in, say, the top (or bottom) course?

And I've filled voids before with Quickcrete. Is that ok? Or is mortar stronger?

Thanks for your help!

Sam

Last edited by SamGIII; 06-20-2007 at 04:31 PM.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 06-20-2007, 01:49 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: Monkey Scratching Cat Herder
Rewards Points: 2,336

Re: Rebar Placement In Dry Stack CMU

You are mistaken in your assumpiton. You can have a surface bonded wall with horizontal and vertical reinforcement that will often outperform a normal masonry wall, but not a simple rack-and-stack and fill with concrete wall.

Old 06-20-2007, 01:54 PM   #3

I see.

So I guess then my question would be is stacked and filled with concrete strong enough for a 3' retaining wall?
Old 06-20-2007, 02:06 PM   #4
Pro