New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please! - Page 2 - Masonry - Contractor Talk

New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-29-2017, 04:23 PM   #21
Pro
 
Windycity's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,496
Rewards Points: 6,160

Re: New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Golden view View Post
I've never worked with stone or subbed it out. I don't see much in my area. Anyone care to share an example of a similar material expertly executed?


Here is one I did a few years ago...isnít my favorite but the customer loved it...this is a natural veneer stone.. kinda the same idea with it being irregular stone




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Windycity is online now  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Windycity For This Useful Post:
asevereid (11-29-2017), Golden view (11-29-2017), GTXBuilder (11-29-2017)

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 11-29-2017, 05:00 PM   #22
Registered User
 
GTXBuilder's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Builder
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 8

Re: New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Windycity View Post
Here is one I did a few years ago...isnít my favorite but the customer loved it...this is a natural veneer stone.. kinda the same idea with it being irregular stone




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I used the same blend of irregular stone in the past, similar to the ones in my photos, but every stone was laid using a torpedo level on top to maintain a leveled horizontal and vertical line effect throughout. It was also executed by masons who knew how to lay this type of stone. It looked really good. The stone cut was also of better quality. Material, technique and skills. It all matters.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk
GTXBuilder is offline  
Old 11-29-2017, 05:12 PM   #23
Pro
 
artisanstone's Avatar
 
Trade: Stonemasonry
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: upstate, sc
Posts: 641
Rewards Points: 616

Re: New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by GTXBuilder View Post
I used the same blend of irregular stone in the past, similar to the ones in my photos, but every stone was laid using a torpedo level on top to maintain a leveled horizontal and vertical line effect throughout. It was also executed by masons who knew how to lay this type of stone. It looked really good. The stone cut was also of better quality. Material, technique and skills. It all matters.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk
I don't know man, Every stone? Torpedo level? That makes no sense to me. The rest of your paragraph does make sense.
artisanstone is online now  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to artisanstone For This Useful Post:
brickhook (11-29-2017), kirkdc (11-29-2017), Wile E Coyote (12-28-2017)
   
 
Old 11-29-2017, 05:57 PM   #24
Pro
 
kirkdc's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling (mostly kitch/bath)
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Cripple Creek. CO
Posts: 661
Rewards Points: 2,796

Re: New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by artisanstone View Post
I don't know man, Every stone? Torpedo level? That makes no sense to me. The rest of your paragraph does make sense.
Instead of torpedo leveling, I draw level lines about every foot or so going up the wall, fireplace, etc which allowed me to eyeball up irregular rocks and stay straight. I did it on all my stonework as well.

Those last few pics look a lot better although it's still a big jigsaw puzzle to make those stones look good.

Just like tile work ya gotta charge more money when it comes to pattern layout, designs and stone shapes. Years ago I did a stone job where the HO's wanted a particular pattern on a 2-sided fireplace with a stone selection that turned out to be a real headache for me. I ended up making about 15 bucks an hour when it was all said and done. Lesson learned.
kirkdc is offline  
Old 11-29-2017, 06:14 PM   #25
Pro
 
artisanstone's Avatar
 
Trade: Stonemasonry
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: upstate, sc
Posts: 641
Rewards Points: 616

Re: New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!


Uh...

My point was that if the stone is wedge shaped, not every stone will be level on top. Also, a torpedo level is a pretty poor way of checking level on a 2' long stone.
artisanstone is online now  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to artisanstone For This Useful Post:
kirkdc (11-29-2017), Kniggit (11-30-2017)
Old 11-29-2017, 07:10 PM   #26
Pro
 
Windycity's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,496
Rewards Points: 6,160

Re: New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!


Yea besides if the customer picks an irregular shaped stone product they probably donít want ever stone straight, square and level, Just like my picture above I tried to keep the flatter stones level and the oddball ones add some character by not being perfect

Here is a project that I did where the stone is more square and straight...this obviously requires the stone to be level




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Windycity is online now  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Windycity For This Useful Post:
AustinDB (12-07-2017), Golden view (11-29-2017), overanalyze (12-05-2017)
Old 11-29-2017, 08:34 PM   #27
Renaissance Man
 
superseal's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry, Carpentry and everything else.
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 6,702
Rewards Points: 5,586

Re: New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!


They needed a better mix of high and low rise stone...the style of pointing makes a big difference as well.

I commonly take chit stone and make it look good...
Attached Thumbnails
New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-img_0003.jpg   New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-img_0013.jpg   New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-img_0014.jpg   New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-img_0008a.jpg   New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-img_0002a.jpg  

New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-ribbon-cut-pointing-4.jpg   New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-ribbon-cut-pointing-5.jpg   New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-ribbon-cut-pointing-6.jpg   New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-ribbon-cut-pointing.jpg   New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-img_0001_new.jpg  

New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-img_0039a.jpg   New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-img_0047a.jpg  
__________________
"Under promise, over deliver and all that!" JBM
supersealconstruction.com

https://www.facebook.com/Superseal-C...2699413750013/
superseal is online now  
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to superseal For This Useful Post:
asevereid (12-05-2017), Golden view (11-29-2017), overanalyze (12-05-2017), Rio (12-06-2017), Tscarborough (12-01-2017)
Old 11-29-2017, 08:48 PM   #28
Pro
 
brickhook's Avatar
 
Trade: masonry
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Claudville Va
Posts: 3,593
Rewards Points: 7,570

Re: New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by artisanstone View Post
I don't know man, Every stone? Torpedo level? That makes no sense to me. The rest of your paragraph does make sense.
Agree
brickhook is offline  
Old 11-29-2017, 08:50 PM   #29
Renaissance Man
 
superseal's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry, Carpentry and everything else.
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 6,702
Rewards Points: 5,586

Re: New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!


some more...
Attached Thumbnails
New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-img_0083a.jpg   New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-img_0012.jpg   New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-img_0030.jpg   New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-img_0045.jpg   New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-img_0046.jpg  

New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-img_0046a.jpg   New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-img_0059a.jpg   New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-img_0100.jpg   New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-img_0007a.jpg   New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-img_0006a.jpg  

New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-latini-pointing-054.jpg   New Stone Work - Your honest opinion please!-latini-pointing-083a.jpg  
__________________
"Under promise, over deliver and all that!" JBM
supersealconstruction.com

https://www.facebook.com/Superseal-C...2699413750013/
superseal is online now  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to superseal For This Useful Post:
asevereid (12-05-2017), Golden view (11-29-2017)
Old 11-30-2017, 06:59 AM   #30
Pro
 
B.Johnson's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,060
Rewards Points: 1,632

Re: New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!


I look at the chimney at the roof ridge with the scaffolding, ladders, and jacks and all I can think is how much work it would be just to get one stone up there.

Your work looks great!
__________________
Home Designer Series Software
B.Johnson is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to B.Johnson For This Useful Post:
stuart45 (11-30-2017)
Old 11-30-2017, 09:44 AM   #31
Pro
 
stuart45's Avatar
 
Trade: Brickwork
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 984
Rewards Points: 1,066

Re: New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by B.Johnson View Post
I look at the chimney at the roof ridge with the scaffolding, ladders, and jacks and all I can think is how much work it would be just to get one stone up there.

Your work looks great!
Does look like hard work with materials.
Most of the old stones houses round here have brick chimneys.
I took the grandkids to an old stately home round here last week which had a load of twisted stone chimneys, but I expect the owners had plenty of cash to throw at the build back then.
stuart45 is online now  
Old 12-05-2017, 05:40 PM   #32
Pro
 
JBM's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mass.
Posts: 7,406
Rewards Points: 5,422

Re: New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!


Ill tell you what i think when you tell me in what position of cheapest to most expensive was his bid.
JBM is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to JBM For This Useful Post:
SmallTownGuy (12-05-2017)
Old 12-05-2017, 05:41 PM   #33
Pro
 
JBM's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mass.
Posts: 7,406
Rewards Points: 5,422

Re: New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Windycity View Post
Here is one I did a few years ago...isnít my favorite but the customer loved it...this is a natural veneer stone.. kinda the same idea with it being irregular stone




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thats a nice look. Im on a house right now and were looking for a weathered face mix of stone.
JBM is offline  
Old 12-05-2017, 05:46 PM   #34
Pro
 
JBM's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mass.
Posts: 7,406
Rewards Points: 5,422

Re: New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!


when you have wonky stone you have to come back to level as fast as possible while cutting the stone as little as possible. With thin stone anyways. Also use the largest side of the stone to get out of a low spot and get to level, not to create a high spot.
JBM is offline  
Old 12-05-2017, 09:13 PM   #35
Pro
 
natural1's Avatar
 
Trade: Landscape contractor
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 344

Re: New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!


Hard to look at.
So the sub is going to re-do the whole thing? How does a job get that far along with out noticing the poor quality.

Whats up with all the small windows?
__________________
Mike

http://www.natural-designs.com
natural1 is offline  
Old 12-05-2017, 09:16 PM   #36
John the Builder
 
SmallTownGuy's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter/Builder
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 13,215
Rewards Points: 1,682

Re: New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by natural1 View Post
Hard to look at.
So the sub is going to re-do the whole thing? How does a job get that far along with out noticing the poor quality.

Whats up with all the small windows?
bingo!
__________________
All my Life loving Hippie friends turned into soul-sucking Conservatives - or died. Same difference.
"Mornin' ladies, my goodness don't you look happy. Must be cuttin' somebody up pretty good." - Andy Griffiths
SmallTownGuy is offline  
Old 12-06-2017, 10:20 AM   #37
Pro
 
kirkdc's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling (mostly kitch/bath)
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Cripple Creek. CO
Posts: 661
Rewards Points: 2,796

Re: New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by SmallTownGuy View Post
bingo!
I asked twice and still haven't found out what he paid for the job.

irregular stones? no thanks..maybe only a few to mix things up but IMO they are a PITA and look crappy no matter how you position them. Cut them if ya got to. Better yet, pick out different stones.

I'd charge triple to mess around with all those irregular shaped rocks. And you can only leave so much grout space before it starts looking ugly. You end up with more mortar/grout than rock !
kirkdc is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to kirkdc For This Useful Post:
GTXBuilder (12-06-2017)
Old 12-06-2017, 11:54 AM   #38
Registered User
 
GTXBuilder's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Builder
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 8

Re: New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!


Quote:
Originally Posted by kirkdc View Post
I asked twice and still haven't found out what he paid for the job.

irregular stones? no thanks..maybe only a few to mix things up but IMO they are a PITA and look crappy no matter how you position them. Cut them if ya got to. Better yet, pick out different stones.

I'd charge triple to mess around with all those irregular shaped rocks. And you can only leave so much grout space before it starts looking ugly. You end up with more mortar/grout than rock !
Not a dime to date.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk
GTXBuilder is offline  
Old 12-06-2017, 12:12 PM   #39
Pro
 
Fouthgeneration's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mid west
Posts: 1,896
Rewards Points: 6,835

Re: New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!


Here is my Wild Assss Guess of what happen,

0. Builder / owner wants 'real full bed stone'......

1. Builder contacts a Journeyman employing Stone masonry sub for Square foot prices for material and labor, get a honest answer and goes 'Holy manure'.... that cuts into gulf course time & $.

2. Contacts local 'lick and stick' illegal alien subs for lower bid/estimate, Si senor, cheap and FAST. No waste.

2.5. Builder specs use of 'scrap' rocks to save a few more $ on this Pig. Illegal aliens drive on, El Jeffee is always right. "Looks good from Zambezi".

3. Cheap design, + cheap materials + poor taste,semi competent labor - lack of style = ugliest home in the development.

4. A few hundred thousands of dollars are tied up in this scat till it is peddled to a greater fool.


Buy an old board game for the spinner, relabel the sectors with your supply chain, designer, banker, InterNet Forum posts, Mom & Dad, weather, and various subs.
When ever your work is sub par, spin the spinner to assign blame.

I'd suggest work on the "man in the Mirror" for actual improvement in Home building results longterm.

Last edited by Fouthgeneration; 12-06-2017 at 12:22 PM.
Fouthgeneration is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Fouthgeneration For This Useful Post:
SmallTownGuy (12-06-2017)
Old 12-06-2017, 07:51 PM   #40
Pro
 
kirkdc's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling (mostly kitch/bath)
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Cripple Creek. CO
Posts: 661
Rewards Points: 2,796

Re: New Stone Work - Your Honest Opinion Please!


haha. very well could be.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fouthgeneration View Post
Here is my Wild Assss Guess of what happen,

0. Builder / owner wants 'real full bed stone'......

1. Builder contacts a Journeyman employing Stone masonry sub for Square foot prices for material and labor, get a honest answer and goes 'Holy manure'.... that cuts into gulf course time & $.

2. Contacts local 'lick and stick' illegal alien subs for lower bid/estimate, Si senor, cheap and FAST. No waste.

2.5. Builder specs use of 'scrap' rocks to save a few more $ on this Pig. Illegal aliens drive on, El Jeffee is always right. "Looks good from Zambezi".

3. Cheap design, + cheap materials + poor taste,semi competent labor - lack of style = ugliest home in the development.

4. A few hundred thousands of dollars are tied up in this scat till it is peddled to a greater fool.


Buy an old board game for the spinner, relabel the sectors with your supply chain, designer, banker, InterNet Forum posts, Mom & Dad, weather, and various subs.
When ever your work is sub par, spin the spinner to assign blame.

I'd suggest work on the "man in the Mirror" for actual improvement in Home building results longterm.

Advertisement

kirkdc is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing veneer stone work on a metal building Jethroe Masonry 16 03-13-2016 05:48 PM
Kid needed decks and finish work toronto bbgcarpentry Help Wanted or Looking For Work 3 04-23-2013 09:55 PM
Stone Thresh Hold Greg from K/W Masonry 2 01-25-2013 05:44 PM
Stone veneer installation ws6tbird Masonry 7 10-01-2012 09:10 PM
Commercial Repair/Insurance work, New company policy... Its called, Tree-Fiddy Tech Dawg General Discussion 18 08-14-2012 10:57 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?