Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

Mortar mixing ratio

267K views 170 replies 36 participants last post by  Tscarborough 
#1 ·
Ok dumb question time. As some of you may know Im still new to the brick laying trade. So far I have only done some small projects and heve been using the premixed morter. I now have a project that would be better using some sand and cement and mixing my own morter.
What I need to know is what is the best mix ratio. I have looked around the internet and found a few charts that only confuse me. So I figure that I had better consult the all knowing wise masters on this one.
Thanks in advance
Smitty

#2 ·
Ahh, mortar mix design, my favorite subject. The answer is that you have to use the proper mix for what you are laying, where you are laying it and when.

The mix that you can't usually go wrong with is 1-1-3, portland-type S lime-masonry sand. Workable, good bond strength and enough lime to promote autogenous healing.

The important thing to remember is that the proportions are by volume. Portland cement is bagged in a 1 CuFt bag (94#), as is lime (50#). A five gallon bucket filled to the top ring (not the top of the bucket) is also 1 CuFt.

#3 · (Edited)
ok ...Standard red brick - on top of concrete - and today (winter/spring. Wet no freeze)
correct me if I misunderstand this ...
one bag (1 cu ft.) 94# portland type 'S' cement
one bag (1 cu ft.) 50# lime
3 cu ft masonry sand (3 buckets filled to first ring)
OR (?)
1 shovel cement
1 shovel lime
3 shovels sand
(My mixer is only a 2 cu ft.)
Correct???

#4 ·
mix

i tell my hands to mix it:10 shovels(square point and full)sand, one bag mason cement,8 shovels of sand.so you end up with 18 sands and one bag of mason.if i am laying artifical stone i use 1 or 2 less sands and add one shovel portland.
if we are mixing grout 18 sands,bag of portland,18 sands.
if the miz is too wet,on mason you can add 3 shovels sand to one shovel mason.4 sand to 1 portland.

#6 ·