Lintel Blocks?

Old 09-22-2017, 02:15 PM   #1
Goin' Down in Flames....

Trade: Highwayman
Rewards Points: 1,402

Lintel Blocks?

I just got a quote for about 20 lintel blocks. 33 something bucks a piece, and a $450 set-up fee.

This is from Basalite.

I said "no thanks, I'll form the bottom of the bond beam".

Do guys not use these anymore? I remember them being fairly common when I was a truck driver for a building materials company in the late '90's.

Delta

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 09-22-2017, 02:37 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: Masonry consultant
Rewards Points: 2,832

Re: Lintel Blocks?

What do you consider a "lintel block"?

The unit price is high, but the set-up charge is lower than most producers should charge.

Must be an unusual shape unit. The mold costs for most common units could be about $10,000 (new mold).

When I was involved in making and supplying block, we would charge $500 to $1000 per set-up (plant down time) for specialty shape for one job.

We were in the business of making block and selling them to masonry suppliers, contractors and other block producers. - We normally had 1200 different block shapes and weights/materials in our minimum inventory of about 2,000,000 block. We sold 12,000, 000 to 16,000,000 block a year.

I am surprised that Basalite did not have specifically what is required in inventory since they are a good producer.

Advertisement

Engineer, designer and consultant recently active domestically and internationally on construction and design in about 40 countries.
Old 09-22-2017, 02:45 PM   #3
Goin' Down in Flames....