Level Talk

Old 06-04-2017, 08:57 AM   #1

Trade: Masonry
Rewards Points: 4

Level Talk

Well it always seems to be the argument between masons on which is the best level. I have been using stabila for about 3 years now. My brother recently bought a set of 3 piece crick levels and I got a little jealous honestly! So, i just bought a set on ebay I was somehow able to pick up a 48" and 24" 5 piece crick in perfect condition for $160.00 (practically stole them) My only question is I have always had a level with green vials and these vials on the cricks are clear. Was wondering if anyone has ever used a clear vial? and if so are there any downfalls to clear vials or is it just personal preference?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 06-04-2017, 10:52 AM   #2
Pro

Rewards Points: 4,572

Re: Level Talk

I prefer cricks because I prefer wood levels. Every couple of weeks oil them down with linseed oil and they will last forever. Keeping them oiled makes them easy to clean. Cricks have glass windows so they will crack but they are replaceable. Only issue i have with the windows is that mortar is difficult to clean where the metal retainer ring and glass meet. Usually i am in a hurry to leave work and get lazy with cleaning and mortar builds up in there. A tiny paint brush and a very mild solution of acid cleans it right up.

To answer your question i have both green and clear viles and the only difference is that the clear is sometimes hard to see indoors or low light conditions, usually no biggie since i am usually outside during the daytime working

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Advertisement