Building A New Chimney

Old 04-13-2009, 04:14 PM   #1
WICKED WOODCHUCKER

Trade: Finish carpentry, drywall, Tile
Rewards Points: 500

Building A New Chimney

I've been a builder for 13 years now. And for the last 3 or 4 years I have been having a very hard time finding masons to do my brick chimneys. I have basically had enough of getting behind schedule on my roofs. And my last mason I had said it would be 1200 to build the chimney from roof up. After he was done he gave me a bill for 2000. Thats a little higher! Anyway I want to start doing them myself. One of my roofers said he use to do them. But I have not so I want to make sure we go about this the right way. Got one we are starting wed, And its going to be my first attempt. We need to tear down to roof line. rebuild (bricks) and put a cap on, top liner, And of course new lead flashing. If any of you skilled masons wouldn't mind talking the time to basicaly go through the entire process for me or point me to a website It would help me out alot. I just want to make sure everything is going to be done right. Thanks for your time.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 04-13-2009, 04:24 PM   #2
strat hd

Trade: framing contractor , remodeler , GC occasionally
Rewards Points: 1,000

Re: Building A New Chimney

Quote:
Originally Posted by mnjconstruction View Post