Brick Veneer Support Over Large Opening. - Masonry - Contractor Talk

Brick Veneer Support Over Large Opening.

Old 07-31-2007, 01:41 PM   #1

Trade: Residential Development
Rewards Points: 10

Brick Veneer Support Over Large Opening.

I'm a new designer for a residential developer and I've come across a seemingly basic question that I'm having trouble answering. I'm designing a 2-story home with a 2 car garage. The house has a standard brick veneer and per IRC2003 R703.7.3 veneer above openings shall be supported on lintels with the spans given in table R703.7.3. According to the table the largest span of a lintel with one story of brick veneer above is 12'-0". This has me confused because a standard two-car garage door is 16'+. So how does one support the veneer above the garage door? This seems like such a common issue that the code should reference it rather than requiring that a solution be engineered.

Looking at R703.7.2.1 there is no maximum span for supporting the veneer on a steel angle but I'm wondering if this applies it does not reference openings.

If there's anything that I can clarify please let me know. Otherwise, thank you in advance for any assistance or suggestions you can provide.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 07-31-2007, 01:49 PM   #2
I'm a Mac

Trade: ICF Construction
Rewards Points: 4,254

Re: Brick Veneer Support Over Large Opening.

Educated guess on what I have had in the past is a 12" steel I beam w another piece of flat steel welded to it this serves as the door header and can carry the load of the brick

Advertisement

Old 07-31-2007, 03:58 PM   #3
Pro

Trade: masonry
Rewards Points: 542