Backyard Office, Retaining, And Privacy Wall

Old 07-30-2007, 10:05 AM   #1

Trade: Electrical
Rewards Points: 29

Backyard Office, Retaining, And Privacy Wall

Greetings everyone, I am an electrical contractor, I specialize in home theater, whole house audio/video, automation and networking environments.
I have very little (real world) experience in excavation, hard scape or drainage.
I have a fairly large project (my home) which seems like it could be Pandora's box if not thought out and/or executed properly please help me understand what it is I am up against.
Below are some pictures I took today after the landscapers cleared out every tree, bush, plant and root from the backyard in preparation for this project.

The scope of the project is as follows:

(A) build 100 linear feet of retaining wall (less than 5 feet tall) using Allen (or similar) block systems on west side of property incorporating low voltage lighting accommodations (pilasters?) as indicated in the attached images.
This wall will be built so that the TOP (final course) is 3 feet off of the neighbors wall toward my backyard.

(B) build (2) 16 feet by 3 feet conventional retaining wall segments against existing (neighbors) wall, at each end of the back of my lot where I will build two 10'x12' backyard office rooms (sheds). The south west office will require that 2 of its walls will be part of the retaining wall requirements for that portion of the lot.

(C) build Allen block retaining wall segments between each of the above mentioned "offices" to complete retaining wall along existing south side wall as indicated in attached images.

(D) build 60 linear feet (6 feet tall) of free standing block wall (privacy wall) from the back yard to the front edge of my house (north to south on the east side of my property line) incorporating pilasters and low voltage lighting accommodations.