Sink Or Swim

Old 01-26-2018, 12:28 PM   #1

Trade: General Contractor
Rewards Points: 2

Sink Or Swim

Well, this is going to be a little different maybe than you all are used to.

I have absolutely no direct experience in contracting, but I was just hired by a GC as a project coordinator. I used to be a hotel manager and this was the firm that renovated the hotel I was managing. As we were wrapping up the project they offered me a job and being as I've been wanting to make a career change for a while, I took it.

I'm learning a lot everyday but its going to take a little while till all of this ceases to be foreign to me.

I'm hoping you all don't mind me joining you and learning as much as I can about my new profession.

Anthony

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 01-26-2018, 01:24 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: I'll do that for 500 bucks.
Rewards Points: 7,400

Re: Sink Or Swim

Good luck. However, I don't see anything but wailing and woe for you. At least for the first few years or 5.

I've seen non construction guys move into a company and it usually isn't pretty. Trades guys aren't maids, janitors and clerks.

Construction is a lifestyle. You will need to learn that fast.

All that being said, I wish you good luck.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Advertisement

brickhook (02-10-2018), Pircher (01-26-2018)
Old 01-26-2018, 02:18 PM   #3
Pro

Trade: remodeling
Rewards Points: 8,115

Welcome to CT!
The Following User Says Thank You to hdavis For This Useful Post:
Pircher (01-26-2018)

Old 01-26-2018, 02:44 PM   #4

Trade: Remodeling
Rewards Points: 1,046

Welcome to CT.
Old 01-29-2018, 04:16 PM   #5