Van Vs Pickup Vs Box Truck....so Many Options

Old 06-02-2012, 10:11 AM   #1

Trade: GC
Rewards Points: 10

Van Vs Pickup Vs Box Truck....so Many Options

Hey guys and gals, I am coming to a point by next year I am going to need a new vehicle. I use my work truck as my Kid hauler as well, so it limits my multi car options, and I prefer it since I don't have to maintain, insure two vehicles.

So I know this has been beaten to DEATH, but I'm soon to be at a cross roads. The old vehicle choice. I have ALWAYS had pick ups. and yea they are so annoying to load and unload, load and unload. But they are so very versatile.

The Van argument is great, Having everything inside and protected is key, but Awful MPG, and if it's your only vehicle its kind of annoying in its own way.

The box truck, it's huge but hold everything...but again HUGE.

My problem is that I work as a GC, and don't have a specific trade. So I need so much of anything. In a trip to a tenants house I may need some plumbing and electrical. Then to a new build and Now I am a painter and installing a back splash, or setting a raised planter bed.

Then next weekend, I am moving some motorcycles, and running around with a truck full of snow blowers.

I have had small trucks (tacoma) and loved them but they are awful for ANYTHING other than parking.

I am just looking because my chevy 1500 extended cab is starting to show the signs of "hey you're gonna have to fix me a lot soon"

I am considering a ram 3500, crew cab ( I need the back seat for kids and daily life). I am still on the fence of 6.5 or 8 ft bed. I know I want the 8, because I can get a tool box in and still have 6.5 feet. But the crew cab, 8 ft bed is a BUS. So I am considering the crew cab smaller bed, with a tool box and use an enclosed trailer. That way I can have the basics with me in the box, and on a specific job I can bring the trailer. But an 8 ft bed is just useful.