Steel Deck Beam

Old 12-23-2017, 02:39 PM   #1

Trade: Electrical

Steel Deck Beam

I've been reading old posts and I think there is a wealth of knowledge here. I have a question that maybe someone can answer? I have 16AWG, 2.5" flange x 16.5' long joists on-hand. I would like to build a deck that has a 20ft span and is 16.5' deep. I can use 3 posts (10ft span per). Here is the question, do I need to make a double beam or is a single okay? Am planning on setting the beam at 12ft. Also, could I somehow bury the beam in the decking? Notch the steel post and bolt through? The view is great, but the added depth from the beam will block a large portion of it at 16.5 feet. Can anyone share their thoughts on this? I've never done a deck with steel before, but have framed plenty of walls with it. Thank you, and Happy Holidays!

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 12-23-2017, 02:50 PM   #2

Re: Steel Deck Beam

I should probably clarify something. The building itself is steel. The width of the deck (20ft) and depth (16.5ft) will be approx. 10' off the ground. A patio will be poured later. Using 6" diameter round pipe (1/4" wall) for posts, which will end up about 17' tall. I want to attach shade sails to the building later if needed to make the deck comfortable in our weather. The long posts will also make attaching wrought iron railing simple and strong.

Advertisement

Old 12-23-2017, 06:03 PM   #3
Pro

Trade: Masonry
Rewards Points: 6,115

2.5" width X "what depth in inches" x 16.5' length 16 AWG what shape, and simple corners or ribbed????