Moving A Pole Barn

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-18-2010, 08:06 AM   #1
Registered User
 
timar's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bloomsburg, PA
Posts: 2
Question

Moving A Pole Barn


Has anyone ever moved a pole barn? I need to move a 36 x 36 pole barn around 300yrds without tearing it down. A contractor freind said to drag it with a dozer or two dozers. I contacted a house moving company and they want $10,000 to do it.
timar is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   
 

Old 03-18-2010, 08:09 AM   #2
Pro
 
genecarp's Avatar
 
Trade: LI,NY designer, new homes, renovation work, concre
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 5,425

Re: Moving A Pole Barn


PLEASE COMPLETE YOUR PROFILE, AND CONTINUE TO THE INTRO PAGE AND TELL US A LITTLE ABOUT YOURSELF AND YOUR PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE, THANKYOU AND WELCOME TO CT, Only one thread per topic, thanks, GMOD

__________________
genecarp is offline  
Old 03-18-2010, 08:26 AM   #3
Pro
 
tcleve4911's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,250

Re: Moving A Pole Barn


Quote:
Originally Posted by timar View Post
Has anyone ever moved a pole barn? I need to move a 36 x 36 pole barn around 300yrds without tearing it down. A contractor freind said to drag it with a dozer or two dozers. I contacted a house moving company and they want $10,000 to do it.
.......and?
__________________
Back in Maine
Dubbin' Around
Doin' good stuff ......
tcleve4911 is offline  
Old 03-18-2010, 08:47 AM   #4
#1 stunner
 
Static Design's Avatar
 
Trade: Design/Build
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: KY
Posts: 576
Send a message via AIM to Static Design

Re: Moving A Pole Barn


Damn ppl around here can build a new one for that.
__________________
Will do autocad/ 3d work for food.
SD on facebook... click here
Static Design is offline  
Old 03-18-2010, 06:49 PM   #5
SEMI RETIRED
 
griz's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: CA
Posts: 12,648

Re: Moving A Pole Barn


How the heck would one drag a pole barn?

It would be a mess when you got it part way there.

I suppose you could set new poles, get a crane and brace the roof (is it sheated or metal roof?), boom the roof off and reset it.

Or take it apart and re-build it. Anyway you cut it it's a bunch of not fun work.
griz is online now  
Old 03-18-2010, 06:59 PM   #6
Registered User
 
allterra's Avatar
 
Trade: excavating contractor
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: wyoming
Posts: 2

Re: Moving A Pole Barn


Did one almost that big....used old bridge timbers to build a skid. Then pulled it with a backhoe and a farm tractor. Had to cut the poles off at ground level , most were rotten anyway.
allterra is offline  
Old 03-18-2010, 08:51 PM   #7
Pro Framer Dude
 
Warren's Avatar
 
Trade: framing/remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 6,449

Re: Moving A Pole Barn


We once moved a 24x24 garage using a crane. we moved it about 80 feet to a new foundation. Had to move it half way, set it in the yard, move the crane, then set it on new foundation. guess if you had a bigger crane it could be done with that one too. Although with a pole barn I think you might have to shear off the poles at ground level, and install new poles sistered to the old ones. 300 yards is quite a distance too. Would probably involve moving the crane at least 15 times and setting it down each time. The collateral damage would probably be excessive.
__________________
There are some good mods out there.But a lot of them are just double wides with lipstick

WNC Viking
Warren is online now  
Old 03-18-2010, 09:09 PM   #8
Pro
 
galla35's Avatar
 
Trade: Framer
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 440

Re: Moving A Pole Barn


i once moved/built a pole barn that had two lean twos on skids with trusses connecting the two sides that i pushed around with a dozer for some crazy H.O.s that wanted a portable building, wouldnt recommend it
galla35 is offline  
Old 03-18-2010, 11:29 PM   #9
Pro
 
Doubleoh7's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrician
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 490
Send a message via Yahoo to Doubleoh7

Re: Moving A Pole Barn


How about hiring a trucking company. You could rent a 45 of 48 foot flat bed trailer. Have them back the trailer under the building in the middle. Then build a couple of "trusses" across the building just above the trailer deck. Jack the building up by placing jack between the deck and the trusses. When you are ready have them come and move the trailer. There are several videos on youtube of people moving garages.
Doubleoh7 is offline  
Old 03-19-2010, 06:16 AM   #10
Pro
 
mrmike's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical & Carpentry
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Adirondacks of NY
Posts: 838

Re: Moving A Pole Barn


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doubleoh7 View Post
How about hiring a trucking company. You could rent a 45 of 48 foot flat bed trailer. Have them back the trailer under the building in the middle. Then build a couple of "trusses" across the building just above the trailer deck. Jack the building up by placing jack between the deck and the trusses. When you are ready have them come and move the trailer. There are several videos on youtube of people moving garages.
This seems like a very logical way to do this ! You will have to cut the posts to move it as someone else mentioned. Before this whole thing is considered, you should check with your building code enforcement office, if you can sink new posts next to the existing ones, and method of attachment in its new location.................
mrmike is offline  
Old 03-19-2010, 09:42 AM   #11
Civil / Structural PE
 
Tim Garrison PE's Avatar
 
Trade: Software and business coaching
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mount Vernon, WA
Posts: 88

Re: Moving A Pole Barn


A pole barn resists wind and earthquake in large part by the pole embedment in concrete. If you cut the poles off and reposition the building, what's to keep the building there when the wind howls?

Sistering new poles next to cut-off ones would work if the depth of embedment is adequate, AND the splice length and bolting to the existing poles is strong enough. A rule of thumb for splice length is double the embedment depth. So if the poles are embedded 4' in concrete, you'll want a splice length of 8'. I suggest using 5/8" all-thread at 9" spacing, staggered slightly, with 3" washers.

The above suggestion is just that, a suggestion. You should get a local engineer to help you with the reconnection design.

Good luck!
Tim Garrison PE is offline  
Old 03-19-2010, 10:00 AM   #12
New Guy
 
Sliverpicker73's Avatar
 
Trade: Trim carpentry
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 28

Re: Moving A Pole Barn


I've seen many old garages moved on hayracks, same concept only your project would be a bigger scale
Sliverpicker73 is offline  
Old 05-15-2010, 08:05 AM   #13
Registered User
 
nikirao's Avatar
 
Trade: usedwheelloader
Join Date: May 2010
Location: shanghai
Posts: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to nikirao

Re: Moving A Pole Barn


it is a very biog project, you should ask some professional contruction machinery manufacture and ask them about this, maybe they can offer you some ideas

nikirao is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
stocking service trucks MO-AMPS Electrical 23 11-25-2009 09:39 PM
convert pole barn into house kalefarmer Construction 5 07-06-2009 08:07 PM
Pole Barn Framed Garage? J-Peffer Construction 12 05-25-2009 07:49 AM
large slab in pole barn tomscarpt Masonry 17 04-04-2009 03:41 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?