Monolithic Slab Vs Block Slab

Old 01-03-2005, 09:07 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Monolithic Slab Vs Block Slab

I would like to read some opinions about slab on grade vs footing, block, and slab. The foundation co. that is bidding on my project is pushing slab on grade. The dirt looks to be like clay with medium rocks but I am no expert. The grade of the lot would look to me to be a 3 or 4 block high job as the back of the lot is lower. Any ideas on which is better for making it last for ever. Also I live in Arkansas where the avg night temps are above 32 in the winter most of the time unless we get snow which never lasts longer than 2 or 3 days on the ground. I have some building knowledge but cost accounting by trade. My gut tells me to stick with the block slab.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 01-03-2005, 10:25 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: General Contracting and Construction Recruiting
Rewards Points: 250

Re: Monolithic Slab Vs Block Slab

Hi General,
I personally have never had a problem with monolithic slabs where code allows it here. I've also lived in Springfield, MO for some time and had the pleaure of trying to dig a few sewer lines there. Where you've got dirt, you've got that red dirt there right? According to my old college science teacher, that's from bedrock being so close to the surface. Not having seen it, I'd be willing to guess you've got really solid ground there and a mono would probably be just fine (Is their bid price lower for the mono slab?).

Tim

Old 01-04-2005, 06:45 AM   #3
Pro

Rewards Points: 150