Floor Trusses

Old 03-26-2008, 11:45 PM   #1

Trade: Carpenter

Floor Trusses

I have never worked with Floor Trusses before. We are building a small cabin (24 X 24) with a full basement for a guy. He doesn't want any walls or posts in the basement. Can I use Floor trusses and what size will I need. They will be 16oc. Thanks for the help.

Mulecreek

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 03-26-2008, 11:56 PM   #2

Trade: carpenter/renovator

Re: Floor Trusses

I'm planing a shop soon and will use the same joists as well. You can get all the specs (span tables, joist height, centers...) for engineered joists off the internet for your application.
supermike

Old 03-27-2008, 12:09 AM   #3
Pro

Trade: General, Electrical, and Plumbing Contractor

It will depend on your manufacturer.

I have seen some companies 12" trusses that will span the 24' you need, while others will require a 14" or 16" truss at the 16" O.C. you specified.

Also most companies will have a maximum span of 30' regardless of the O.C. spacing, but my local truss manufacturer has just announced that they can build floor trusses that will span up to 34' now.

So your best bet is to talk to whom ever will manufacture then for you.

Also you can use Weyerhauser 12" 560 TJI's or Boise Cascade 90 2.0 TJI's at 16" O.C.

Last edited by Kgmz; 03-27-2008 at 12:19 AM.
Old 03-27-2008, 02:32 AM   #4
Thom

Trade: General Contractor/Homebuilder

The truss manufacturer provides the engineering needed to permit the project. Take a set of plans into the manufacturer and he will be able to tell you what depth truss is needed to make the longest span, then engineer all trusses to that depth.