Dormer

Old 12-21-2017, 07:34 AM   #1

Trade: Builder
Rewards Points: 44

Dormer

Hi folks, I'm new to the trade and looking for some advice...

I'm remodeling the second floor of my barn and want to put in a 15' wide gable dormer. My question is, do I need to replace the existing ridge beam with a structural ridge?

The new dormer won't reach the existing ridge. We were going to run a double header joist hung from double LVL's rafters down the sides. The gable end will sit on the outside wall.

Here's a drawing...

Dormer-screen-shot-2017-12-20-2.18.28-pm.png

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 12-21-2017, 08:01 AM   #2
Eater of sins.

Trade: Designer/Drafter/General Contractor(again)
Rewards Points: 1,120

Re: Dormer

Your Trade is "Builder" is it?

Andy.

Advertisement

The Following User Says Thank You to ScipioAfricanus For This Useful Post:
hdavis (12-21-2017)
Old 12-21-2017, 08:17 AM   #3
Pro

Trade: remodeling
Rewards Points: 9,125

Assuming you want to build this to code, my advice is to read the IRC on this topic.

Old 12-21-2017, 09:04 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScipioAfricanus View Post
Your Trade is "Builder" is it?

Andy.
Yes, but as I said I'm fairly new to the biz. I've built single window dog house dormers that only required doubling the rafters and adding a header. I've built smaller shed dormers that used collar ties to tie into the other side of the roof. I've done wide shed dormers that required a structural ridge. But I've never done a wide gable dormer like this. I thought someone here might have experience with it.
The Following User Says Thank You to wladd77 For This Useful Post: