New 800 Amp Service

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-20-2010, 07:05 PM   #1
Registered User
 
paul hardy's Avatar
 
Trade: electrician
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10

New 800 Amp Service


Installed the service on new house 800 amp single phase still have to complete the grounding and complete the meter it came with duplex lugs for each phase had to order quad lugs.
Attached Thumbnails
new 800 amp service-img00017.jpg   new 800 amp service-img00019.jpg  
paul hardy is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   
 

Old 04-20-2010, 07:57 PM   #2
Contractor
 
72chevy4x4's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling & Home Additions
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Delaware
Posts: 2,844
Rewards Points: 2,002

Re: New 800 Amp Service


it looks real pretty except for the sticker on the top left cover is off center...that's not your fault though :-)

serious question...why the need for an 800A service?

72chevy4x4 is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 08:12 PM   #3
Registered User
 
paul hardy's Avatar
 
Trade: electrician
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10

Re: New 800 Amp Service


8000 square foot home with 2000 square foot inlaw suite in basement and a shop below the 3 car garage that has 3 phase moters and a phase converter. no 3 phase power availible from the power company.
paul hardy is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 08:32 PM   #4
Thom
 
thom's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor/Homebuilder
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 4,001
Rewards Points: 2,098

Re: New 800 Amp Service


I did an 800A residential service 15 years ago, but differently. The POCO had no tri-plex large enough, they wanted 2 @ 400A, side by side.

We installed Two services, one fed the many A/C units, the other fed the many sub panels spaced throughout the 18,000 square foot house.

The natural gas supply was a 5# system in 2" pipe with regulators at various segments throughout the house.
thom is online now  
Old 04-20-2010, 09:01 PM   #5
Pro
 
wireless's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrician
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 264
Rewards Points: 250

Re: New 800 Amp Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by 72chevy4x4 View Post
it looks real pretty except for the sticker on the top left cover is off center...that's not your fault though :-)

serious question...why the need for an 800A service?

Top right?
wireless is offline  
Old 04-20-2010, 09:55 PM   #6
Pro
 
EES's Avatar
 
Trade: Working Class
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 75

Re: New 800 Amp Service


Did that CT cab come factory with that meter socket attached to the front of it? It looks like it's rivited to it, but I find that odd. Also at 800 amp I am assuming those are 4" pipes, how the hell did you fit expansion joints below that beast and keep those top breakers below 6'7"? I don't even see the tops of the exp joints, so it would seem that they either are not there or those breakers are 8' off the ground.



Edit:That first pic hadn't shown up before I posted this. Hope you didn't pull your wire yet. Cutting an exp joint in there would be pretty easy, unless you pulled your wire already.

Last edited by EES; 04-20-2010 at 09:59 PM.
EES is offline  
Old 04-21-2010, 06:15 AM   #7
Contractor
 
72chevy4x4's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling & Home Additions
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Delaware
Posts: 2,844
Rewards Points: 2,002

Re: New 800 Amp Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by wireless View Post
Top right?
saw top right, typed top left....was a long day
72chevy4x4 is offline  
Old 04-21-2010, 08:51 AM   #8
Registered User
 
paul hardy's Avatar
 
Trade: electrician
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10

Re: New 800 Amp Service


The conduit is only there to comply with 300.5 around here the power company runs the USE to the meter and they just want protection from below grade to the meter no expansion fittings. The meter is supplied by the power company as you see it the door opens with the meter and the CT's are behind prewired with line and load lugs.
paul hardy is offline  
Old 04-21-2010, 01:00 PM   #9
Thom
 
thom's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor/Homebuilder
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 4,001
Rewards Points: 2,098

Re: New 800 Amp Service


The four mains, are they 200A each?

When I did the 800A service as 2@400A, I had to have the factory custom make the panels. They each had a 3 pole breaker because they didn't make a 2 pole 400A breaker. They then put a single phase guts in, tying into only two of the three poles.

It was a PITA. Charged big $$$ though.
thom is online now  
Old 04-21-2010, 02:29 PM   #10
Always Thirsty
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 11,602
Rewards Points: 2,572

Re: New 800 Amp Service


Quote:
We installed Two services, one fed the many A/C units, the other fed the many sub panels spaced throughout the 18,000 square foot house.

The natural gas supply was a 5# system in 2" pipe with regulators at various segments throughout the house.


I've done a few houses in the 15K square foot range but they were all 400A. I'd love to see some pics of that electrical room.

I didn't know you could have a 5# system with regulators in the house.
Inner10 is online now  
Old 01-10-2011, 09:42 PM   #11
Pro
 
JBrzoz00's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrician
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 81

Re: New 800 Amp Service


Do you have any more pictures of this setup?

JBrzoz00 is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Service Magic Yeah I know Frankawitz Online Leads Services 36 04-21-2012 12:25 AM
Lead service providers: Beware! We were FOOLED. Stonewood Online Leads Services 6 01-04-2010 07:41 PM
Google search for a contractor, bathroom Mark Daniels Online Leads Services 7 12-25-2009 11:35 AM
ungrounded 3 phase 3 wire service JERRYR713 Electrical 7 11-08-2009 07:14 PM
Can anyone make any sense out of this? Teetorbilt Technology 24 04-16-2007 11:21 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?