Making A Bid For Residential Trim Work?

Old 01-07-2009, 02:31 PM   #1

Trade: I am a professional contractor
Rewards Points: 10

Making A Bid For Residential Trim Work?

I am just getting started in the business side of trim carpentry and I having trouble figuring out how to build a bid to do residential trim work.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 01-07-2009, 04:02 PM   #2
I like Green things

Trade: Custom Carpentry Services
Rewards Points: 5,172

Re: Making A Bid For Residential Trim Work?

I think you need to build a scale model first, maybe out of posicle sticks. Then you can stress test it, and go from there.

Old 01-07-2009, 04:09 PM   #3
Pro

Trade: Carpentry & Remodeling
Rewards Points: 500

As a "professional contractor" have you ever done trim before? Have you ever had to pay a sub to trim before?
One huuundred millllion dollars!!! j/k bad Austin Powers ref.
Old 01-07-2009, 04:51 PM   #4
Dave from Macatawa

Trade: GC, cabinet maker and remodeler
Rewards Points: 250

it can be by the square foot of floor space (that is common in my area) or by the door and amount of base and case. By the base and case is rare in my experience.

Get hold of a Mean's estimating guide or Walker's and check them out. They show an approach to estimating. But if you use their estimated dollars out of the current book on of two things will happen.

1- you will never win a bid
2- someone pays the estimate book rate and you can retire early
Old 01-07-2009, 06:23 PM   #5
Ciaos mitigator

Trade: Carpentry
Rewards Points: 1,246

Quote:
Originally Posted by macatawacab View Post