Caulking Replacement Windows

Old 07-07-2005, 06:24 PM   #1

Trade: Plumbing
Rewards Points: 10

Caulking Replacement Windows

I installed my first vinyl replacement window recently. Everything went well, but I have one nagging concern. I caulked the inside of the blind stops before I installed the window, and I also caulked on the outside of the window (sides and top only).

Following the advice of a contractor on a jobsite (I'm a plumber), I didn't run a bead of caulk along the bottom of the replacement window (where the plastic sill angle meets the old wooden sill). His concern was that water might get trapped in there and have no where to run out, possibly rotting the wooden sill eventually.

His advice seemed to make sense to me, and I didn't see any weep holes in the bottom of the replacement window. Then again, I'm not a carpenter, so I'd like to hear some other expert opinions.

Thanks,

Ken

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 07-07-2005, 07:52 PM   #2

Trade: Deck builder & Handyman
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Caulking Replacement Windows

I just read the directions that come with the brand I usually install. It says to install the sill angle and then caulk it. It also says to caulk the entire perimeter of the window. Water should not be getting under the window itself. There should be weep holes on the sill of the replacement window however.
Just curious didn't yours come with instructions?

Old 07-07-2005, 08:00 PM   #3