Help Bidding Jobs

Old 07-05-2015, 11:24 PM   #1

Trade: Paint
Rewards Points: 2

Help Bidding Jobs

Hello everyone, I'm hoping to find some help. Im a full-time firefighter (24hrs on/ 48hrs off) and I do construction on the side. I've been doing construction for 14+ years and owned my own company doing remodels and building garages for the last 7 years. I made the transition into just painting after receiving several request from previous clients. I never priced just painting, i always just included it in my remodel or build price. I need help figuring a good way to bid jobs both interior and exterior. I use quality equipment (Wooster & Purdy) and have recently bought a nice sprayer (Graco Ultra 395 pc). Can anyone suggest a good rule of thumb for pricing my labor? I'm getting pretty good at estimating paint and materials (tape, plastic, and paper) but need a better way than guesstimating time and breaking it down into an hourly.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 07-06-2015, 12:46 AM   #2
GC/carpenter

Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Rewards Points: 3,460

Re: Help Bidding Jobs

Here's how I got a bid for a bath from my painter Here's the text conversation

Me:
Curtis, Here's a pic of the ceiling detail in Macks bath.

Curtis:
Looks cool. It's just going to be wall sealer then paint for walls and ceiling right?

Me:
Yes, I thought I'd give you an idea of what it was. It is fresh drywall. You've seen the bath haven't you. Can you give me a price so I can get it in my contract? Thx

Curtis:
It's a couple days for me and one guy plus materials so I'm about $1300.

Me: