Another Bathroom Nothing Fancy But Nice - Remodeling Picture Post - Contractor Talk

Another Bathroom Nothing Fancy But Nice

Old 05-18-2014, 11:28 AM   #1
Pro

Trade: Remodeler, Kitchen and Bath
Rewards Points: 315

Another Bathroom Nothing Fancy But Nice

Ok, here's the latest project and the numbers on it....

I was in Lowe's trying to order a door that the client could afford and turned to the guy waiting to be next and said something along the line of "If you're in a hurry, I'll wait because I've got nowhere else to be today and this may take a while." Well, me being nice led to us having a conversation and of course that led to me making sure he knew what I did for a living. He said that his bathroom "Really needed some attention" and I sent him to my web site ReBuildMyBath.com to look around. This was on a Saturday, and Monday morning his wife called.

The ceiling had been repaired from an upstairs leak but looked horrible. I couldn't believe the guy had charged them to leave it that bad. The floor around the toilet was rotten, and the floor under and in front of the shower was completely gone. So much so, that when we peeled the linoleum up I fell through the floor. The linoleum was the only thing holding you up.

It had a built in vanity, a stuck on mirror and the linen cabinet was closet. The toilet was almost directly behind the vanity. There was no exhaust fan, only one light on the ceiling and a pair of sconces over the vanity.

I emailed her two SketchUp shots where I moved the toilet over behind the shower out of site, recommended a free standing cabinet with granite top for a vanity, new recessed lights, and me building her a nice linen cabinet to do away with the big bulky closet door. I would completely gut this bathroom down to the studs and ground. The entire floor came had to be replaced.