Ridgid Insulation Under New Siding

Old 12-19-2010, 02:45 PM   #1
peterqbrown

Trade: Remodeling contractor

Ridgid Insulation Under New Siding

This topic has no doubt been discussed, but I am new to contractor talk and cant find it.
I am about to re-side an older home here in Bozeman MT. Wall construction= Asbestos cement shingles (now removed) over 30 lb felt, over 1x6 sheathing on 2x4 walls with fiberglass insulation and plaster board wall covering. This home does NOT have a plastic vapor barrior on the warm side of the wall.
I will be using CertianTeed fiber cement lap siding. I want to add a layer of 1/2" rigid Insulation to minimize thermal bridging and cut down air infiltration. My current insulation choices are 1/2 "closed cell blue (non faced) ridgid insulation or 1/2" foil faced rigid insulation. I dont want to create any condensation problems. foil faced insulation creates a impervious vapor barrior for sure. Anyone want to weigh in on this?
thanks for your time
pb

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 12-19-2010, 04:14 PM   #2
topsail's trimcat

Trade: finish Carpenter/ renovations

Re: Ridgid Insulation Under New Siding

1/2" foam doesnt offer a whole lot for r-value, we use 1" on every house we do the siding on, depending on supplier cost we bounce back and forth between extruded 1" (blue or pink) or enerfoam which is foil backed and faced. i should mention a good portion of the homes we do are reno and fit the same description as yours to a T. we generally use harti so we put on 1x4 for rain screen in the warmer months but switch to 5/4 in the winter just so it doesnt split all to hell when we shoot it on when its frozen.