Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

New laminate over old.

26K views 21 replies 17 participants last post by  Bergstrom 
#1 ·
I have a customer who want't new lam on her bath counter. I have never tried this before. Could I rough up the existing laminate and go over? or does the old need to come off? It is in great condition and well adhered. Front edge is finshed with oak and trimmed at a 45 degree bevel.

Rich

#4 ·
Sure, you can do it, - - just sand as stated above, and let your new laminate extend an extra 1/4" or so, - - then install a new rabbetted and beveled oak edging right over the old.

Simple enough if you're set up with a shop, - - otherwise you need to weigh the cost-efficiency of the time you'll spend against simply getting a new one made.

#6 ·
I've never done that and really can't see the benefit. You have to remove the sink no matter what you do and I can't imagine that oak trim is in very good condition, wood trim on a wet area usually doesn't go together too well. I assume this tip is the old style built in place with squared edges? This is a great time to upgrade (upsell the customer) to a coved back splash and a waterfall edge which would be available to her with a new post formed laminate vanity top. Maybe I'm just lucky since I have a company here locally that will build a custom sized vanity top in laminate for under $100.00 in less than a week, then all it becomes is a matter of out with the old and in with the new.

#7 ·
I've laminated over older stuff a few times with no problems. I sand, then make a 3 x 5 scratch block with 20 or so drywall screws sticking out the other side and scratch the heck out of the old laminate. Vacuum and wipe with lacquer thinner and it's ready to go.
Can you rout out the front edge with a straightedge and a router and glue a new piece in? Make sure there are no metal fasteners first!

#8 ·