Load Bearing Wall Or Not???

Old 01-03-2007, 07:39 PM   #1
Pro

Trade: Painting & Remodeling

Load Bearing Wall Or Not???

I am a painter by trade but my company has expanded slowly over the years to do light remodeling. I am about to do some wall removal where the homeowner does not want a header between the rooms after the wall comes out. This house is a side split house and the area we are talking about is the side with no upper floors. The homeowner insists it is not a load bearing wall because the roof is built with a frame type trusses. I have had two different people who have a lot of building experience look at it and they both gave a different answer. Myself I feel it should be supported. Right now the plan is to take out the one wall that we know for sure is not load bearing. Next we will put up a support wall to carry the weight "just in case" the wall coming out is load bearing. I figure if the weight shifts to the temp supports we will know quick if we need to plan on a header.

What I want to know is if there is a foll proof way to know ahead of time?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 01-03-2007, 07:43 PM   #2
DGR,IABD

Trade: Electrical; Commercial and Residential Service

Re: Load Bearing Wall Or Not???

Even though they are trusses, 99.99% of trusses are engineered with a center bearing point in mind. Tread with caution....

Old 01-03-2007, 07:55 PM   #3
Pro

Trade: manager of excavation division

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdshunk View Post
Even though they are trusses, 99.99% of trusses are engineered with a center bearing point in mind. Tread with caution....
Not where I'm from.
Old 01-03-2007, 07:59 PM   #4