Add Corbels To An EXISTING Granite Tile Countertop

Old 06-27-2007, 05:53 PM   #1

Trade: painting
Rewards Points: 10

Add Corbels To An EXISTING Granite Tile Countertop

I ma a painter by trade so this topic is a little out of my reach.. The house I have has a tile (12" x 12" granite) countertop in the kitchen. The old owers in a pinch place plain white UGLY shelf supports under the overhang as "poor mans" corbels... I would like to remove these and insert / add some really nice hardwood corble that I have... The new corels has "keyhole" slots in hte back which are going to be imposible to use considering the countertop is already in place.... DOes anyone have any suggestions on mounting these / how to replace the old... ...

thanks

Jeff

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 06-27-2007, 07:33 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: Bathroom Remodeling
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Add Corbels To An EXISTING Granite Tile Countertop

You need to tell us if they are going to be structural or decorative? If they are just decorative how about some scotch tape?

Old 06-27-2007, 07:42 PM   #3
DGR,IABD

Trade: Electrical; Commercial and Residential Service
Rewards Points: 2,000

PL adhesive? Long trim screws?
Old 06-27-2007, 09:04 PM   #4
Pro

Trade: Kitchen & Bath dealer/remodeler
Rewards Points: 250

Does the over hang cantilever over a stud wall or are there cabinets below ?

If cabinets are supporting the counter top you may be able to secure the decorative corbels by adding blocking and screwing from inside the cabinets into the backs of the corbels.