Buying A Costco Security Camera System

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-15-2014, 06:32 PM   #41
Pro
 
SectorSecurity's Avatar
 
Trade: Low Voltage Wiring
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,977
Rewards Points: 2,684

Re: Buying A Costco Security Camera System


Quote:
Originally Posted by EricBrancard View Post
Are those Lorex IP cams the same as the Hikvision ones?
Correct me if I am wrong Inner but Lorex, Flir and Digimerge are all the same company.
SectorSecurity is online now  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 12-15-2014, 06:35 PM   #42
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 22,114
Rewards Points: 9,220

Re: Buying A Costco Security Camera System


Quote:
Originally Posted by cwatbay View Post
That is true. It does replace SDI. I didn't want to get too much into it with folks that don't have a lot of depth in the subject.

I did forget to mention that you need to have a TVI capable DVR to use TVI cameras, but I kinda figured that would be a moot point here.

And, yes, IP is more flexible. I program IP cams all freaking day to work with various networks.

One thing that is not discussed much is API.....which every IP Cam salesman seems to not understand or want to talk about. This is especially true with "inexpensive" NVR's with on board POE.

But then again, this whole discussion is about low end analog systems.
Luckily most quality main stream products have API available or are ONVIF so compatibility is less of a concern.

By installation flexibility I meant architecture wise, a job in the summer I had one NVR and a bridge between two apartment buildings. Another I'm working on now I have a fiber trunk joining three groupes of 35 cameras...can't do that with analog or SDI.
__________________
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post: Leo G
Inner10 is offline  
Old 12-15-2014, 06:35 PM   #43
Pro
 
cwatbay's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Carlos, California
Posts: 1,100
Rewards Points: 1,674

Re: Buying A Costco Security Camera System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Inner10 View Post
He's paying a whole 400 dollars for the kit he better make good use of the supplied cables!
I sometimes think about someone using the funky cables that come with these kits. Running the wire from the cam, through walls, behind toe-kicks, through the attic. Stapling it all down, then coming up 6 inches short from the DVR
cwatbay is offline  
   
 
Old 12-15-2014, 06:41 PM   #44
Pro
 
SectorSecurity's Avatar
 
Trade: Low Voltage Wiring
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,977
Rewards Points: 2,684

Re: Buying A Costco Security Camera System


Quote:
Originally Posted by cwatbay View Post
I sometimes think about someone using the funky cables that come with these kits. Running the wire from the cam, through walls, behind toe-kicks, through the attic. Stapling it all down, then coming up 6 inches short from the DVR
Cuz I have never done that pulling cat cabling on an almost empty box.
SectorSecurity is online now  
Old 12-15-2014, 06:42 PM   #45
Pro
 
cwatbay's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Carlos, California
Posts: 1,100
Rewards Points: 1,674

Re: Buying A Costco Security Camera System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Inner10 View Post
Luckily most quality main stream products have API available or are ONVIF so compatibility is less of a concern.

By installation flexibility I meant architecture wise, a job in the summer I had one NVR and a bridge between two apartment buildings. Another I'm working on now I have a fiber trunk joining three groupes of 35 cameras...can't do that with analog or SDI.
Again, you are correct on the "quality" end of NVR's. API should not be an issue, but then again, one should really contact the manufacturer of the NVR and check the compatibility list of camera manufacturers.....even if the cam is Onvif.....there can still be issues with the processing of the video signal. But this is primarily in reference to Kits and NVR's with on board POE.

I have yet to have any issues with free standing NVR's, Video Servers and separate Managed POE switches.
cwatbay is offline  
Old 12-15-2014, 06:45 PM   #46
Pro
 
cwatbay's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Carlos, California
Posts: 1,100
Rewards Points: 1,674

Re: Buying A Costco Security Camera System


Quote:
Originally Posted by SectorSecurity View Post
Cuz I have never done that pulling cat cabling on an almost empty box.
I thought that is why they make CAT5e couplers

You know, if you look closely at the cable, it will have teeny tiny letters and numbers on it that tell you how may feet you have left (or used up)
cwatbay is offline  
Old 12-15-2014, 06:56 PM   #47
Pro
 
TimelessQuality's Avatar
 
Trade: GC/Remodeling
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Central America (Kansas)
Posts: 4,732
Rewards Points: 1,730

Re: Buying A Costco Security Camera System


I was curious because I have a client that would like better quality on a couple cams, but it's an older dvr system... So they wouldn't be able to use the the TVI cams? What about adding a 900 line cam to and older system that's 700 now (I think)?


Sorry to hi-jack your thread Mike..
__________________
-Steve

'It takes considerable knowledge just to realize the extent of your own ignorance.'-Thomas Sowell
TimelessQuality is offline  
Old 12-15-2014, 07:19 PM   #48
GC/carpenter
 
Californiadecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 30,611
Rewards Points: 688

Re: Buying A Costco Security Camera System


Quote:
Originally Posted by TimelessQuality View Post
I was curious because I have a client that would like better quality on a couple cams, but it's an older dvr system... So they wouldn't be able to use the the TVI cams? What about adding a 900 line cam to and older system that's 700 now (I think)?


Sorry to hi-jack your thread Mike..
No worries, I'm learning.
Californiadecks is offline  
Old 12-15-2014, 07:21 PM   #49
GC/carpenter
 
Californiadecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 30,611
Rewards Points: 688

Re: Buying A Costco Security Camera System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Inner10 View Post
He's paying a whole 400 dollars for the kit he better make good use of the supplied cables!
So do you recommend I purchase the cable separately? Possibly a better quality? Or should I just use what they give me?
Californiadecks is offline  
Old 12-15-2014, 07:31 PM   #50
Pro
 
cwatbay's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Carlos, California
Posts: 1,100
Rewards Points: 1,674

Re: Buying A Costco Security Camera System


Quote:
Originally Posted by TimelessQuality View Post
I was curious because I have a client that would like better quality on a couple cams, but it's an older dvr system... So they wouldn't be able to use the the TVI cams? What about adding a 900 line cam to and older system that's 700 now (I think)?


Sorry to hi-jack your thread Mike..
To answer your question, it all depends on two other things: the maximum resolution that the DVR will process the incoming video at, and, the maximum resolution of the viewing monitor.

If the DVR will only process at 500 TVL then thats it. Putting in 600 or 900 TVL cam won't do a thing. And, if the DVR will process 900 TVL, but the monitor will only do 300 TVL, well....it's till going to look crappy on the screen. So you see, there are three major factors: the resolution of the camera, the resolution of the DVR and finally, the resolution of the viewing monitor. There are some other factors, but they aren't worth getting into right now.
cwatbay is offline  
Old 12-15-2014, 07:41 PM   #51
Pro
 
cwatbay's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Carlos, California
Posts: 1,100
Rewards Points: 1,674

Re: Buying A Costco Security Camera System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Californiadecks View Post
So do you recommend I purchase the cable separately? Possibly a better quality? Or should I just use what they give me?
In my experience with Q-See, Swann and Lorex, the cable you get is the cable you get. It works with that particular set up.

http://www.lorextechnology.com/Secur...n/prod660001.p

If the system uses regular RG59 or RG6 you are in luck. You can either make or buy cable to run the lengths you want. If it is premade, it will have connectors on it already, but you may need additional connectors and couplings. You need to get solid core coax, not the stranded type.
cwatbay is offline  
Old 12-15-2014, 08:01 PM   #52
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 22,114
Rewards Points: 9,220

Re: Buying A Costco Security Camera System


Quote:
Originally Posted by cwatbay View Post
In my experience with Q-See, Swann and Lorex, the cable you get is the cable you get. It works with that particular set up.

http://www.lorextechnology.com/Secur...n/prod660001.p

If the system uses regular RG59 or RG6 you are in luck. You can either make or buy cable to run the lengths you want. If it is premade, it will have connectors on it already, but you may need additional connectors and couplings. You need to get solid core coax, not the stranded type.
They all use bnc for video and barrel for power.
__________________
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post: Leo G
Inner10 is offline  
Old 12-15-2014, 08:02 PM   #53
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 22,114
Rewards Points: 9,220

Re: Buying A Costco Security Camera System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Californiadecks View Post
So do you recommend I purchase the cable separately? Possibly a better quality? Or should I just use what they give me?
If it reaches use what they give you.
__________________
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post: Leo G
Inner10 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post:
TNTSERVICES (12-15-2014)
Old 03-08-2015, 04:02 PM   #54
GC/carpenter
 
Californiadecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 30,611
Rewards Points: 688

Re: Buying A Costco Security Camera System


Got it.
Californiadecks is offline  
Old 03-08-2015, 04:06 PM   #55
GC/carpenter
 
Californiadecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 30,611
Rewards Points: 688

Re: Buying A Costco Security Camera System


Here it is
Attached Thumbnails
Buying a Costco security camera system-1425845166520.jpg  
Californiadecks is offline  
Old 03-08-2015, 04:18 PM   #56
GC/carpenter
 
Californiadecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 30,611
Rewards Points: 688

Re: Buying A Costco Security Camera System


Hope I don't burn the place down installing it.
Californiadecks is offline  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Californiadecks For This Useful Post:
J L (03-08-2015), m1911 (03-08-2015), Xtrememtnbiker (03-08-2015)
Old 03-08-2015, 07:34 PM   #57
Pro
 
skillman's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 2,859
Rewards Points: 1,968

Re: Buying A Costco Security Camera System


Found thread in time . Looking to do samething to .
skillman is offline  
Old 03-08-2015, 07:57 PM   #58
Hair Splitter
 
TNTSERVICES's Avatar
 
Trade: General
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 17,078
Rewards Points: 2,294

Re: Buying A Costco Security Camera System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Californiadecks View Post
Here it is
Is that Wall-e on the box?
Attached Images
 
__________________
Tried & True on Facebook
Tried & True Website
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarpenterSFO View Post
You ask for your money frequently, and you collect it quickly, else you stop working immediately.
TNTSERVICES is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TNTSERVICES For This Useful Post:
Californiadecks (03-08-2015), gfourth (03-08-2015)
Old 03-08-2015, 08:01 PM   #59
Pro
 
gfourth's Avatar
 
Trade: Structural & Misc. Steel
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 119
Rewards Points: 164

Re: Buying A Costco Security Camera System


Cool. Good info in this thread. In escrow on our first home and this is on the list of to dos!
gfourth is offline  
Old 03-08-2015, 08:01 PM   #60
GC/carpenter
 
Californiadecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 30,611
Rewards Points: 688

Re: Buying A Costco Security Camera System


I was just thinking if Inner10 can do it, how hard could it be?

Advertisement

Californiadecks is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Californiadecks For This Useful Post:
m1911 (03-08-2015)


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elgen GSF septic system rino1494 Excavation & Site Work Picture Post 9 01-05-2013 05:11 PM
Hidfast Gun redwood Decks & Fencing 28 06-08-2012 07:43 PM
Vts 59 track system GroundHawg 1 Excavation & Site Work 2 06-02-2012 11:54 PM
Job Site Web Camera MikeTheBuilder Technology 15 10-10-2007 04:58 PM
CCTV Digital Security Camera Systems 3rdEyeSecurity General Discussion 1 05-01-2007 02:09 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?