Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

Question from lawyer trying to help contractor

12K views 52 replies 39 participants last post by  rallen 
#1 ·
:party: Hi, everyone:

I'm not a contractor; I'm a lawyer who stumbled across your site while researching a question for a contractor client. I'm not as familiar with contracting practices as I'd like to be, so I hope you'll help me help him.
Here's the question:

Is it standard practice for a general contractor doing custom home work to markup the hourly rate for laborers in addition to charging a flat percentage for profit and overhead?

Thanks in advance for for any help you can give.

#2 ·
In my experience with doing hourly work. My hourly charge would include any workers I have. If the job required more workers at any given point the contractor should have that stipulated with an extra charge per hour. Always you will have a percentage for overhead and profit. So it should be STIPULATED in the beginning not just show up in the middle of the job. If we need help as far as sub-contractors that is a whole other story than charging for individual laborers.

#3 · (Edited)
The word standard is a loose term as best. But the answer is yes. That is the way I do it. my hourly fees are marked up to cover overhead and a percentage is used to cover my overhead and profit.

This is an easy explanation but what he did in my eyes is standard

Are you with HOWEY,DEWEY and CHEETUM?? :laughing:

#10 ·
SCP regarding your question:

Is it standard practice for a general contractor doing custom home work to markup the hourly rate for laborers in addition to charging a flat percentage for profit and overhead?
...it isn't entirely clear just what you are asking.

The tricky phrase in there for me is "hourly rate for laborers".