My Dad Owns A Construction Business, I Am His Son. Poor Father And Son Relationship.

Old 10-30-2017, 10:46 AM   #1

Trade: Building Contractor

My Dad Owns A Construction Business, I Am His Son. Poor Father And Son Relationship.

I have been around carpentry and roofing all of my life. From building homes and shops, to major exterior and interior remodels, to hundreds of sq. Of roofing in a season. I graduated college with a Building Construction Technology degree, I have been working with dad in the summers since I was 12 up until I finished college. My dad and I have always had a problem working together. Its not that he is hard on me, I have a lot of drive and always push for production. We have a lot of communication issues. I try to discuss jobs with him and he wont answer his phone, he is rarely at the jobs which is understood if he was doing estimates in that time. If I try to talk to him in person he gives me a hard time. I am trying to help this business grow even further, as that is what I want and my dad wants, but this isn't going to work out. I have done so much to try to make this business grow. I can't help further this business with him when we can't even talk to each other regardless if its boss to employee or father to son. I am going through a lot of stress and depression right now with my father. I really can't stand being around him. We have always had some relationship issues.