Estimating With Excel For The Small Contractor YouTube

Old 01-19-2013, 04:55 PM   #1
Pro

Trade: Small remodeling contractor
Rewards Points: 115

Estimating With Excel For The Small Contractor YouTube

All

I have recorded 12 videos on how to set up a Excel workbook for estimating small jobs.

I am a small contractor, I am self taught at Excel and I have nothing to sell.

If you have opened up an Excel workbook and saw all the the columns and rows and you said to yourself "Now what do I do" then these videos are for you.

I will teach you how to use the Excel tools, to write basic formulas and how I organize my worksheets. How to use fill and how to copy and paste. For most estimating all you need is basic math.

Video #1 Will teach you how to build a basic estimating worksheet. I'll take a guy from his pad and paper and teach him how to make Excel work for him. I intentionally keep it simple. (Note; a friend informed me that I said right click when I meant to say left click and vice versa. I'm sorry. Making the video was more difficult than I thought, despite prior planning and several failed attempts.)

Video #2 Is organizing the worksheet and making it more readable. I also teach you how to name cells, freeze panes and more practice on formula writing and using fill.

Video #3 will teach you how to build a worksheet to track your hours and your materials expenses for the job.

Video #4 In this video I make the Bill Worksheet more readable, link the totals to the Estimate Worksheet and show profitability. I also add a side calculator for figuring tax on returns and show how to insert comments in the description of each day's activities.

Video #5 I take an invoice from Microsoft's website and modifiy it for my needs.

Video #6 I make a few changes to the invoice and then make an Estimate letter. The Estimate letter gets linked to the Estimate worksheet cells. And the Invoice gets linked to the Bill Worksheet Cells.